We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Puddleduck Lodge

Puddleduck Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Puddleduck Lodge
The comfortable lounge Dining room for 4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Puddleduck Lodge
The comfortable lounge
Dining room for 4
The fully equipped kitchen
The comfortable main bedroom with double bed.
The cosy second bedroom with twin beds
Lodges dotted along the beck
The park contains a pub and shop, open until late
Children love the river pool
A dramatic setting for the adventure playground
The Lodges nestle in the Troutbeck valley (seen at bottom left)
A walk around Ullswater can include a ride on the steamer
The pier with boats for hire at Derwent Water
The view from Catbells
Striding edge on Helvellyn
Dogs are welcome at Puddleduck Lodge
Ample parking at Puddleduck Lodge for 2 cars
Puddleduck Lodge
On top of a fell
Lakeland daffodils in spring
Dappled sunlight in the Duddon valley
Derwent Water reflections
Windermere from the Troutbeck valley
The Troutbeck valley in early spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Troutbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
osycamore...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This lodge is beautifully situated on the edge of the stream, making for a lovely sound on an evening. The lodge has everything you could need for a week long stay and is very comfortable and cosy. The park in which the lodge is located is in a good place for many different walks and is only a 15 minute drive from Windermere for local shops and attractions. Would definitely reccommend and would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the park
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1932Ken
Knebworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully situated,clean,comfortable and homely”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Puddleduck from 10th to 13th June. We had a wonderful few days at the lodge - it is beautifully situated, very clean, tidy, homely and comfortable. We will definitely go again and it is highly recommended. The Owners are very helpful too and the lodge is great for dog lovers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lodge location and cleanliness
Liked least: The end of our holiday at the lodge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinajohns...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely site but the lodge was not very clean and was shabby”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the site which was lovely but the lodge had not been cleaned and the décor was very tired.

We will definitely go back to the site next year, but will book a cleaner more modern lodge next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was lovely
Liked least: Lodge was not very clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
We are glad you liked Limefitt Park, it really is a great spot. Profuse apologies for the cleaning mix up. This is extremely rare and the cleaner did get to you within an hour of you telling us. Usually she would have had more time to do a thorough clean. Hopefully the late check out we arranged made up in some way.

Our lodge is the more traditional type and the interior is all wood, which the majority of guests prefer. Wood is warmer and gives a genuine logcabin feel. The newer lodges are more neutral with plain, white plasterboard walls. It does come down to personal preference and the décor is certainly not tired as our previous reviews will testify.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oltforawe...
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil and charming”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from a few days at the lodge. How wonderful!

I chose the lodge for it's location - away from it all - and that we could take our dog. We were sent a detailed information pack and directions to the lodge on booking. Everything was straight forward and as expected.

The lodge was a perfect size for us - just 2 adults, my son and Bella, our dog. We had all the utensils required in the kitchen. We were provided with towels, bedding and a few cleaning products and washing up liquid, cloths etc.

The lodge overlooked the river and was so peaceful. There was a balcony, bbq and furniture so you can sit out if the weather is fine. Parking was at the size of the lodge.

The park is quiet. If you want an all action holiday, you're looking in the wrong place. If peace and tranquility are at the top of your list, then I would recommend this whole-heartedly.

It looks as though a little TLC is needed in a couple of areas, but this didn't bother us....it just added to the character of Puddleduck lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisyhead...
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A most excellent long weekend...Perfect for all the family, even the dog!”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed in the lodge on the bank holiday weekend with my husband, 2 kids (14 & 10) and our miniature Dachshund Kiki.
We all had a fabulous time, the staff at arrivals were very helpful and after settling into the cabin we all felt at home instantly. Kiki especially loved the log burner and I was very thankful for the selection of books there as I had forgotten to put mine into my bag!
The cabin was warm and cosy and we all made good use of the board games on offer ;)
Aira Falls is definitely worth a visit and we took a boat out onto Lake Windermere which we all enjoyed (yes, even Kiki!)
We will absolutely stay again and I'm already looking forward to it :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing