We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lonsdale House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Foot Hotel(Ulverston)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Ship Inn(Ulverston)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chequers Hotel(Dalton-in-Furness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Askam Hotel(Askam in Furness)
View Hotel
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
23
32
12
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
32
12
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathpay and displaytop floorbuffet tablefull englishfour postercar park oppositedressing roomfamily weddinglovely breakfastsome tlcwalled gardentown centreonly stayed one nightrooms are lovelyshower headat short notice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Noisy place with floor boards creaking into the early hours,really scruffy rooms and furniture ripped and falling apart.
Just a real test to get into the bed as the sheets had an awful smell
Breakfast surprisingly good but thats about the best you can say
It is a contractors B&B no problem with that as long as you are a contractor

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeygSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

The room was very nice and the staff were incredibly friendly and competent. The breakfast was all very good, serving a vegetarian option that included some excellent scrambled eggs. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Group Operations Director at Lonsdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

MartynH,

Thank you for the positive review. It was great to read.

The staff at the hotel work very hard so it's rewarding to receive such good feedback. I'll be sure to pass on your comments regarding the scrambled eggs.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards


Jessey Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here on several occasions and found it comfy and welcoming. However this visit exceeded expectation with a room we'd not stayed in before. Fantastic bed, large shower and massive room. The location is perfect as it's close to bard and restaurants, with parking right opposite.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bianca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, Group Operations Director at Lonsdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Bianca h,

Great to see you again. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the upgraded room. Our suites are lovely and our new maintenance manager onboard we are looking forward to developing our hotel even further.

As you say our location is one of our strongest points and great for walking straight into town.


Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Lonsdale house is good but could be so much better. It is a lovely old big townhouse with a rabbit Warren of rooms. Our bedroom was large and very clean with a comfy bed. Tea and coffee provided but had to put kettle on floor as no plug socket near to use. We had a sofa and skylight window that overlooked the garden. This bedroom just needs a little TCL to make it very good. We had a Jacuzzi bath with a shower over the bath. Strange but the shower curtain didn't go all round the bath so it did soak the floor. Towels not the biggest but clean and white. Toilet made an enormous sound when flushed and refilling, just needs the pressure adjusting. Breakfast is served in a very stylish wood and mirrored room in the basement. Choice of cereal etc and then a most delicious cooked to order full English. The bacon and sausage of really good quality. Breakfast lady was a delight who served us.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank IAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, other at Lonsdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

IAN O,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Also, thank you for the positive comments.

Concerning the TLC, we have just taken on a new maintenance manager, Matthew, and are excited to continue our rolling maintenance in the rooms. As you mention it is important to keep on top of the smaller issues in order to maintain high levels of customer satisfaction.

Regarding the shower curtain. This will be looked at immediately and rectified. It does sound rather strange. I shall also get the toilet pressure reviewed in order to reduce the sound levels.

The team will be pleased to hear about breakfast being so popular. We work hard in this area and it is great to recive positive feedback.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Group Operations Directocr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

I recently had a weekend stay in Ulverston with my wife just for a weekend break and do some lakes site seeing.

We chose to stay in the Lonsdale House Hotel Friday & Saturday night, check out Sunday.
Our stay in the Lonsdale was great and couldn’t fault it to be honest with the price we payed, we stayed on the top floor which was very warm at night as with most multi level buildings which was good because it was cold outside which kinda made you glad to be in a warm bed once returning (nothing worse than a freezing cold hotel room) our room was very clean, quiet & peaceful, bed was comfy with decent T.V and couches, plenty of hangers for clothes in cupboard, tea & coffee making facil,, and the bathroom also had a jacuzzi in but we never chose to use, the shower head wasn’t to powerful tbh but not a problem.

(I know some people could find faults with decor needing updating in hallways & stairs etc but for the price we got it for everything was fine).

All the staff we spoke to were very helpful and cheery and always asking us did we need anything.
Our price also included breakfast in the morning which was another reason why we chose it here & was spot on with a choice of continental, fruit, cereal, toast, tea coffee etc or a choice of full English breakfast or anything else you feel like made to order.
The hotel was in a ideal location, 2 mins walk from all main shops, pubs, restaurants.
There was no parking on site but there was parking across the road which was free after 6PM until 8AM next morning but in between it was very expensive, (think it was about £15 for 8 hours or something mad) but 2 mins walk up the hill beyond this was another car park which was £1 for 24 hours which I used and was fine so it’s better parking here just to be safe.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank thepaulsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessey B, other at Lonsdale House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

thepaulsimons,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was great to read you had such an enjoyable time. Please be assured that we are on top of the hallway and stairs, getting them painted this week. I've also asked for maintenance to review your shower head.

It's great to hear the staff are making such a good impression and looking after our guests. I'm also pleased you enjoyed the breakfast. The team works hard to make sure what is served is of a high quality and served piping hot.

Also, it's great to read about the convenience of the hotel. Situated in the center of town it really is a great base to use and explore the area.

See you soon.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Group Operations Director



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews