We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent and cosy”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wigton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MarkTam62
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and cosy”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Great hospitality. Hosts could not do enough to make your stay most welcoming. Excellent facilities and close to scenic spots

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPiper147
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please stay here...You'll LOVE it”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spend the most wonderful week in this lovely cottage. Family orientated, secure, charming, welcoming, cosy...it's a delight! It met all our needs and more. The hosts were wonderful and had thought of everything.
A basket of homemade goodies welcomed us, along with the opportunity to purchase more throughout the week. The novelty of ordering the local ice cream man delighted our wee ones. They had the firsthand opportunity to experience farm life by helping feed the calves at night, which they loved. A secure garden with toys allowed us to enjoy a warm, quiet coffee!
The house itself was immaculate and kitted out to the highest of standards. Perfect for relaxing at night, cosied by the log burning stove.
We filled our week with local activities and some further down into the lakes...there is still so much to do! We'll be staying here when we return

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millbankr...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday!!”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the Old Bothy and had a fantastic holiday. The accommodation was superb, clean and modern but retaining original features such as exposed stone work and beams which was great. Joanne and Martin were welcoming hoasts providing everything needed for a family stay - Joanne even left out games and books suitable for my children. The kids loved being on the farm with all the animals - petting the farm dogs, feeding the calves and even getting to see a calf being born. There is plenty to do in the area as only 20 minutes from Keswick and the beautiful Lake District scenery, even the weather was good! I would definitely recommend The Old Bothy and hope to visit again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
We are over the moon that you had a lovely stay at The Old Bothy, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like it was a wonderful place to call 'home' and get immersed in a bit of farm life - seeing a calf being born is certainly a special and unique experience! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owners and hope you return to enjoy the place again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12medavid
Cliftonville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An outstandingly high quality cottage with a welcoming feel”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Book early to save any disappointment.
This cottage is superbly equipped and well presented to provide a very comfortable holiday base, along with the very helpful host and set in an ideal location,
it makes the prefect place to stay, for touring Cumbria.

,

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality and eye for detail provided
Liked least: The north easterlies!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart W
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Old Bothy with our children (5 & 8) during the Easter holidays. The standard of the accommodation is exceptional with the little touches really making it special - welcome basket with home baking, stoked log burner, soft toys on the children's beds...Holiday highlight was Martin and Joanne showing us around their farm and our children feeding the calves.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at The Old Bothy, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday there! What a treat for your children to feed the calves, I'm sure that's not something they will forget in a hurry! We will be sure to pass all of your lovely comments along to the owners. We certainly hope that you will all return for another holiday very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.