We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waverley Hotel(Workington)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Sleepwell Inn(Workington)
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stork Hotel(Frizington)
US$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manor House Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trout Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
15
10
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
10
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

this is a great place to stay in old town workington.
very freindly staff and a great bar to have a drink in after a day out at the lakes.
in the centre of workington so handy for shops, Restaurants ect

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steverileyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Having stayed at many other hotels in and around Workington I can honestly say that the Green Dragon is by far the best. Situated in a quiet cobbled Georgian square you are guaranteed a good nights sleep. Family owned and run, immaculately clean, warm and friendly with easy access on foot to the town centre. Excellent value, superb breakfast served to your liking.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is excellent for the price you pay, could not complain one bit, staff were very friendly and helpful ( especially when you are not from the area at all ) I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is keen for a short stay ( I stayed for 1 week ) please give this hotel your honest rating as they are very family orientated and take these reviews very personally.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

This a very good small hotel but the room was much better than the outside would lead you to expect.
The shower room of a very standard and every think worked so well of the main
In a quiet area with easy parking
Great

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Y2895HEmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Since they do not normally have guests arrive on a Sunday evening, I was asked to let them know what time I'd be expecting to arrive. Even so, I still waited about half an hour for someone to come and let me in. The room which I'd been allocated wasn't made up so I was given another and then moved for the next night. Both rooms were light, airy, clean and well heated. There was however no bedside light and space for working on the desk was limited because of the big lamp and tv being on there. The bathrooms were also modern and spacious (although the knob for switching from bath to shower came off in my hand and running water into the sink splashed all over my clothes). The view from my room was over roofs and dustbins and as another review mentioned, the curtains let all the light in at dawn. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, but you can help yourself from downstairs.
I opted not to eat full cooked breakfast, but the alternative options were limited:cornflakes or out of date weetabix and no choice for toast - just white. There were no additional items such as yoghurt, fruit, muesli, croissants etc which I have been accustomed to at other small B&Bs. I was told that most residents don't have breakfast.
There is a bar in the hotel, but no food is served during the evenings, however a number of recommendations were suggested to me.
My booking form indicated that there was a free car park. This is not strictly true: you can park on the square (if you can find a space) and although there are signs up about restrictions, I was advised that since there are no lines painted on the road, the restrictions are unenforceable.
The location is good and I was able to walk into town within a few minutes.
The proprietors and their staff were friendly, helpful and chatty.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews