We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George & Dragon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riversholme(Rocester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
167
56
14
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
56
14
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb shankgreat pubsausage dogmarket placereubenfish and chipsdog friendly pubbusy markethome madepub grubvisited ashbournesteak and ale pieseparate entrancehome cooked foodspecials boardparking permitsteak night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Visited this lovely pub twice during a week’s break in the Peak District with family and friends. A warm welcome and fab pub grub. A varied and reasonably priced menu plus great ales and wines. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandylily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at The George & Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for a great review xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We couldn’t fault a thing. Fabulous tasty Sunday lunch served by super friendly and accommodating staff who went out of their way to make us and our dogs feel welcome. I’ll admit I’m a bit fussy - my extra requests were met with a smile and the meal was superb! Even Reuben, the in-house dog proved an excellent host with an outstanding personality. When we’re next in the area we’ll most certainly be back. Thank you to all at The George & Dragon!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at The George & Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We went with friends yesterday and called in for Sunday lunch, We were really impressed. My wife and I had lamb shanks. Our friends has the lamb chops and fish and chips. The portions were really good and everyone really enjoyed their food Speaking of the lamb shanks they were delicious as were the vegetables. My wife is a really good cook and this was very good home cooking rarely found in pubs.

Each member of staff we spoke to was very helpful and cheerful which again was lovely. So well done the George and Dragon I will recommend it to people. There was a lovely real ale on as well. Perfect!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H, Manager at The George & Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for a lovely review we are glad you enjoyed your afternoon with us all xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Called in for a Birthday Lunch because it was dog-friendly always first and foremost for us. We were not disappointed Harrington was more than welcome with free dog treats on the bar and a very friendly resident Dachshund.
The food was lovely and more than enough for the price. It was piping hot and you could tell it had been freshly made.
Staff were so friendly and a great atmosphere. We will definitely be back next time we are in Ashbourne.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank athenamsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Popped into the George and Dragon over the Christmas holidays. It is has A 'proper pub' feel to it still. A welcoming fire and welcoming smiles from the staff behind the bar..
I had the fish and chips, it was some of the freshest fish I have had.
Next time we will make a reservation as they were very busy at the time, I would advise to book.
They also had mulled being served. Lovely staff, fire and good food what more could you need.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank simonjones76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews