We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Precious Gem in the Countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Parking is available right outside your door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Parking is available right outside your door
Situated in a quiet country lane, easily accessible whilst being quiet and peaceful. In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Parking is available right outside your door
Situated in a quiet country lane, easily accessible whilst being quiet and peaceful.
In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Holly Cottage is waiting to welcome you, for a long holiday or short break
Your lounge is cosy and comfortable, with leather sofa and gorgeous fire.
Relax on the snuggly leather sofa, in front of the fire
Our cosy lounge has underfloor heating, a fire and a TV and DVD player
Our cosy fire, for chilled out afternoons or a relaxing evenings after a busy day
That special occasion can be made even more special with a stay at Holly Cottage
Our kitchen, complete with dishwasher, full size cooker, washer/drier and fridge freezer
Our kitchen contains everything you may need, from snacks through to full blown gastronomic delights
Washer and tumble dryer are provided for your use - we've tried to think of everything
Underfloor heating makes all the difference on those chilly evenings!
The stylish first floor bedroom has an oak floor, exposed brickwork and original beams.
With captivating views from your bed, who could ask for anywhere better to wake up?
Superb countryside vista from the window in the pretty bedroom
Wake up refreshed and relaxed in our pretty bedroom.
Wake from a blissful sleep to magnificent views of the Derbyshire countryside.
Fresh sheets mmmmmm!
Comfortable bed with egyptian cotton bedding.
The light and airy bedroom has plenty of wardrobe and storage space.
Luxurious bathroom with high quality toiletry products and fluffy egyptian cotton towels.
Light and airy bathroom
At the end of the day relax in our sumptuous double ended bath tub
Fancy a shower instead of a bath?
Your en-suite bathroom is a tranquil haven with toiletries and all towels provided.
Top class fittings throughout
Surrounded by beautiful countryside.
Surrounded by stunning scenery and beautiful countryside
Our sentiments exactly!
We are pleased to welcome one small well behaved dog.
River Dove at Ellastone, great for wild swimming.
River Dove at Ellastone Bridge
Our award winning local pub. Just a short stroll away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca S
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Precious Gem in the Countryside”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our 3 night stay at Holly Cottage could not be faulted, absolutely everything had been thought of and we wanted for nothing. We are missing the underfloor heating and the gigantic bathtub already! The location was so peaceful and the property very well insulated that even the howling wind and rain that accompanied us on our trip didn't dampen our stay. This place is perfect for country walks and also any adventurers visiting Alton Towers with a little country lane nearby that brings you out right next to the entrance - avoiding all the traffic! Michele was so welcoming and we can't wait to come back in the future. Anybody could feel at home here and we certainly weren't eager to leave, so thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the underfloor heating and bathtub
Liked least: not applicable as everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2015
So glad that we were able to provide the well deserved break that you were so looking forward to. You did have the worst weather of the year and so it's reassuring to know that you were warm and cosy. I love the big bath tub too! Would love to welcome you and Sofia back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cityhoppe...
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A wonderful homely and peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at Holly cottage , Ellastone in Derbyshire over the May bank holiday to use as a base for exploring the surrounding area and visiting Alton Towers whilst celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary.

We loved the cottage and the ambiance it has so much we stayed in most of Sunday just relaxing and enjoying the surrounding village. Michele, the owner, met us on arrival despite it being quite late after being stuck in bank holiday traffic for over 2 hours. She went through everything that we needed to know and gave us information on the local area. The welcome pack of tea, coffee and biscuits was just what we needed after our long drive and a lovely though out extra.

We visited the local 'Rose & Crown' pub after a long day at Alton Towers and the food and service was lovely but did not top The Duncombe Arms which is a 5 min walk from the cottage - the Sunday dinner and staff were outstanding and very highly recommended!

If you need food supplies there is a Sainsburys and a 99p shop in Ashbourne just 5 mins drive away and if you like shopping - Ashbourne has a lovely market on a Saturday and some shops are open on Sundays.

Overall a stunning cottage in a lovely location with wonderful owners - 5 Star!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
So glad you liked the cottage as much as we do. We try to think of everything, and reviews like yours assure us that we are getting it right. Hope to see you again soon - whenever you can arrange your next break away (speak to the grandparents really nicely perhaps? :-))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velli14
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, beautiful setting”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My fiancé and I had a perfect stay in Holly Cottage. We were welcomed by the owner, Michele who is very friendly and a good laugh (also bumped into her and her husband in the local pub which serves delicious food). The cottage is gorgeous and the bedroom surprisingly roomy and with a lovely view. We had everything we needed and it was all pristine. The underfloor heating is a nice touch! It was also useful to have flexible bookings, you don't need to book a whole week as with other cottages. There is lots to do as you are close to the national park and millions of walking and cycling routes, and we also had a cheeky trip to Alton Towers which is round the corner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
It was great to meet you both and I am so pleased that you had a great stay. Come back again to do all the things you didnt have time for! Regards Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrine D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Really cute cottage, simply and cosily decorated, spotlessly clean and wonderfully quiet. Definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and cleanliness
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thanks for your lovely comments. I'm sure your review will be helpful to our future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samie15
1 review
“Beautiful cosy cottage!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Such a beautiful cottage in a gorgeous location. Michele made us feel very welcome on our arrival and was very helpful during the booking stage and actual stay at the cottage. The cottage is close to many great visitor attractions and not to far from some beautiful traditional villages and towns.

Would recommend to everyone and will be visiting again in the future.

Thanks again for a fabulous holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Dear Sam Liam and Barney Beagle. Thank you for taking the time to share your views, which is very helpful to other potential guests, and reassures us that we are getting things right. Really looking forward to seeing you again when you visit for your honeymoon next year.
Regards
Michele Robinson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing