We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“50th Birthday Party”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Birdsgrove House

Birdsgrove House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birdsgrove House
Front drive and view from reception Side of Birdsgrove House, viewed from the paddock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Birdsgrove House
Front drive and view from reception
Side of Birdsgrove House, viewed from the paddock
Koi pond and view from Kingfisher
Wier and river view from our woods
Play area, climbing frame, slide and trampoline
Misty morning view from front door
Cosy snug with open fire and flat screen television
Elegant dining room to seat house capacity
Luxury Clive Christian kitchen with flatscree n tv and dining for 12
Corporate bookings very well accommodated
Well stocked play room
First floor landing
Kingfisher double bedroom with en-suite
Family bedroom - kingsize bed, bunks, daybed and still plenty of room to play !
Communal shower room
Communal bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
19 Bedrooms, 18 Bathrooms, Sleeps 43
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
1966graci...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“50th Birthday Party”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A truly beautiful property. If you are looking for a venue to impress your guests then should be top of your list. Upon seeing the house for the first time - one young guest said "WOW" in the loudest voice imaginable! The service we received before and during our booking was second to none. Kerry is an excellent communicator. Email seemed to work best regarding the answering of questions and arrangements prior to the visit. Whilst at the house Kerry's husband was our main contact. Responding quickly to texts and popping down to the house at a moments notice when issues needed to be addressed. Birdsgrove House is suitable to welcome guests of all ages (our guests ages were from 2 years to 78 years). There are a number of stairs to negotiate - so it is advisable to host less able guests on the ground or first floor. Bedrooms are furnished to a good standard. Bathrooms & Shower rooms were clean and well presented. We spent most of the weekend around the house. There was plenty of room for almost 30 guests to have their own space and still be part of the group. The Dining Room is just beautiful with two stunning chandeliers. When decorated for a Birthday Party it really does look gorgeous. The kitchen is just incredible. Very spacious and has lots of work to space. The cooker / oven has a few quirks - it needs a little time to warm up. But there is a useful domestic oven in the scullery - this was put to good use. The house itself warms up nicely if all the radiators are turned on. So if the heating is switched on - check all the radiators are working! Again, the Owners were very helpful in ensuring the house was warmed through for the weekend. I would definitely book again and would highly recommend Birdsgrove House to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A great property set in beautiful surroundings.
Liked least: The catering oven in the kitchen
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen C
Forfar
1 review
“perfect venue -”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family had lots to celebrate this year....a 90th, 70th, 50th, 21st-----A Golden Wedding a Ruby Wedding and a Silver Wedding - so the age range as you can imagine - very wide --- from 2 to 90 years old so we were looking for somewhere that would accommodate everyone. From the initial enquiry the owner could not have been more helpful --Kerry helped when ordering a grocery delivery - which was excellent idea ( ordered far too much as you do!) Kerry also suggested a few caterers and the one we chose came in on Saturday evening and took over the kitchen- and served a beautiful meal. ( and cleared up afterwards!) Every bedroom was nicely furnished and all to the same standard so no-one felt they had been allocated an inferior room. The playroom is like Toys are Us! - and the trampoline and wee fort kept our younger members well occupied. There are a couple of rooms if you wanted to get away from the hubbub in the main living area -- but the big pull down screen was a big hit with lots of us (Wimbledon!) so the large lounge was perfect.
The outside grounds are well kept and have a lovely to walk down to the river - there is a nice pub within walking distance - The location was ideal for us as family members driving down from Scotland up from London and flying in from the States. The weather of course was good and we did spend quite a lot of time outdoors playing croquet and cricket but I think the house would cope if we were all stuck indoors. Go its perfect.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attractiveness of the house and its setting, also its versatility for families of all ages.
Liked least: A few of the large bedrooms did not have ensuite facilities.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steven A
1 review
“A warm place for those long English Winter Nights”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This place is breathtakingly stunning. Walking down the driveway for the first time at night took my breath away. The inside of the house is so large but still gives you a sense of being warm and cozy. The kitchen is massive and a great place to hangout while preparing meals. The beds were comfortable and warm. The surrounding gardens are well kept and a great place to relax and enjoy the wildlife. The football field was a perfect size for a friendly game. The playground and trampoline brought out the inner child in me and was a great place to lay and stare at the clouds. Overall I hope to visit this place again. Being from Australia, this is exactly how I pictured English Countryside living.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery surrounding the estate.
Liked least: Water pressure in the showers
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Slice of Perfect English Countryside”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My new wife and I married at Birdsgrove on the 2nd of September and it couldn't have been a better venue. Here are a handful of reasons why:

Perfect location: Easy to reach but tucked away next to a beautiful little river with plenty of subtle parking there too.

Amazing grounds: There's so much to wonder around and explore, every wedding guest commented on the amazing grounds without exception. Place is beautifully maintained and there are lots of little surprises there too like the WWII bunker to name just one.

Picturesque house with subtle modern comforts: The beds are first rate and the drop down TV projector is a wonderful touch, there's also a brilliant sound system that will play music in to the different rooms of the house (which totally made the reception).

The Proprietors: Kerry and her Husband and the final star in my review. As a company director working in London I am constantly dealing with other business owners who have no time for you, or make promises they can't remember making let alone have any intention of keeping. The proprietors of Birdsgrove House on the other hand were first rate. Generous with their time and attention (even whilst I was in pre-wedding meltdown) and constantly available to answer questions about the booking and the house.

We loved Birdsgrove so much we intend to revisit with our family for a holiday together next year. if you're taking the time to read this page, and this review, do yourself a favour and book. I guarantee you'll be making the right call.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing