We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Bamford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I ate here over the Christmas break in a party of 8 including 3 kids. The menu is extensive with a mix of regular dishes and specials. The service is attentive although you do have to go to the bar to order. To be fair the staff work hard to keep queuing to a minimum.

To work out what's available on the menu you need to look at the menu and then find two separate boards at the bar for specials. For example the menu says look at the board for the price of steaks but it took me a while to find the board. Then you have to remember it! A specials print out would be easy to produce and ease the need to test your memory.

Portions are large and the food is good quality. Presentation could be a bit better; it was noticeable that all dishes had the same dash of salad on the plate. The prices aren't the cheapest but it does represent good value for good quality food.

The ice cream is delicious (according to my 3 experts).

All in all I recommend it if you don't mind a bit of self service and you're prepared to pay for good quality.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for The Yorkshire Bridge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

Yorkshire Bridge Inn - great welcome, the bar area was very cosy, with a woodburner, and plenty of seating. It was decorated for Christmas, and was spotlessly clean. The bedroom was excellent, the food was also excellent, my husband had steak`s on both nights, and was cooked to perfection. Staff were very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. Really nothing negative about this place. Well done Yorkshire Bridge!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We needed a nice hotel that accepts dogs and was close to the South West corner of Sheffield. The Yorkshire Bridge ticked all the boxes plus a friendly reception, good food and wine, a room opening onto the rear car park and a location in the middle of some stunning scenery all of which can be walked into without using, and finding a park for, the car. All this and only ten minutes from the grandchildren. We shall be back

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAtBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Thank you again for a great stay. Both John and I as well as Charlie enjoyed it. It is as usual very welcoming. The location is great for walking.
The service both in the bar and the restaurant was very friendly. We have already booked again to go back next spring. If you have a dog I can recommned room 14/15 which have direct access to the outsite.

Room Tip: As mentioned in the review rooms on the ground floor are great if you have a pet as they have direct...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ariane122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for one night at the Yorkshire Bridge and found it very welcoming. On arrival, we were personally taken to our room to make sure we were happy. This was spacious, immaculate and the bed was very comfortable with a solid wood frame. We ate in the bar although the hotel reserves a table for residents in its dining room. There was a really good atmosphere about the place and the real ales are also good. The staff were all really courteous and the owner spent time with us on check-out to make sure that we'd had a good stay. Location-wise, it's great. Just 10 minutes from Castleton and 2 minutes from the main Sheffield to Manchester A57. Unfortunately we had to leave earlier than planned due to a sick pet but we hope to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamford
4.6 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
399 reviews
5.6 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.6 km away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.4 km away
Ladybower Inn
Ladybower Inn
#2 of 4 in Bamford
542 reviews
5.9 km away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Hathersage
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Bridge Inn

Address: Ashopton Road | near the Ladybower Reservoir in the High Peak, Bamford, Peak District National Park S33 OAZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Bamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bamford
Price Range: RM404 - RM586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yorkshire Bridge Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a glorious location, The Yorkshire Bridge Inn is an ideal base from which to explore the exceptional beauty of the Peak District.The quality and integrity of our food & drink is something special. We have fine food prepared using fresh local produce.We have 14 bedrooms offering comfortable accommodation, as well as a variety of bars and dining areas with a friendly atmosphere enjoyed by all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Yorkshire Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yorkshire Bridge Hotel Bamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing