We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$73
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pleasant House(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
US$57
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$46/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
91
90
83
49
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
90
83
49
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaold fashionedsconesupgraded to a suitefull englishwedding venuelarge roomrace trackdonington parkan overnight staymartinamealgunjugscastlederbymidlands
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Stayed one night in April 2018. I work in the area and for some reason all my usual hotels had bumped up their prices so stayed here as they had a courtyard room for £49 room only. The hotel is part of a "Finesse collection" but definately didnt have any for me! First some positives. The toiletries were nice, towels were nice and fluffly, room was clean. Negatives and things the hotel could improve on: Room 28 wasnt labelled from the courtyard door so i spent 5 minutes looking for it, the room had apparently recently had some new wallpaper on one wall but was very poorly done and the rest of the room needs new carpet, curtains and the bathroom redoing to bring it up to modern standard. I couldnt find the TV remote so asked at reception for one...went back an hour later after no-one had come back to me. Eventually found one and it worked for 10 minutes then the batteries obviously ran out. The TV signal was very poor, 7 channels with snowy picture and awful sound, i ended up turning it off. The shower over bath shower head doesnt fit in the holder. The fire alarm went off at 7:30 AM for about 15 seconds. Bed (twin room) initially seemed comfy but kept waking up in the night with pins and needles where i'd gone numb. The pillows were awful. No-one on reception at check out, waited 5 minutes, so left my business card asking them to send me the VAT receipt as couldnt stand to be there any longer. At check in the receptionist didnt have any sense of urgency with 4 people waiting and didnt explain were anything was etc. and her dress was very nice but far too short to be professional. Can't comment on the food as didnt have any. This hotel needs some money spending on it to keep up with modernity, could be a really nice place. Definately won't be staying again unless desperate which is a shame as if it was nice i could be staying up to 3 nights a week.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinesseCollection, Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

“Dear Madam,
We have read the review and wish to send our apologies for your experience when you stayed. We have investigated the points outlined and rectified various maintenance points you have brought to our attention. The courtyard room is outside the hotel and sold at a relative price considering it is part of the refurbishment plans, we would be delighted to offer a return visit in one of our upgraded rooms with the opportunity to sample our food as you mentioned you did not get chance. We take on board all constructive feedback please be assured and thank you for your positive feedback regarding the toiletries, the standard of our towels and the cleanliness of the room.
Thank you.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

I booked this hotel as a convenient location for an overnight stop on my journey up to Hull from Dorset. The room was very much a single and quite small. The furnishing were very dated and generally the hotel had the feel of being passed it's best with insufficient funds being generated to reinvest in the fabric of the building and the decor and furnishings.
The standard of cleanliness was fine, and ok for a one night stay where I was asleep most of the time, but I expected better for £69.00 for B&B

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidL408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinesseCollection, Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

“Dear Sir,
We very much thank you for your feedback and review. We do have one single room which is targeted as part of a refurbishment plan this year as we appreciate the fabric and furniture requires updating in line with the Grade II listed heritage and character of the building. We also thank you for the comments on cleanliness and your successful nights sleep. We would be delighted to invite you back to the hotel to either experience a higher grade of room or when we complete the refurbishment plan development.
Thank you.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Many years ago we went regularly for Sunday lunch when it was excellent so thought we would try it again. As we went in I noticed cigarette stubs on the door steps and wondered how it would be. The customers in the bar were very casually if not scruffily dressed, T-shirts, jogging bottoms etc. We had a drink at the bar and asked for a menu, the choice of starters looked good but not mains, however we ordered our food and after our drink went through to the dining room which had relocated since our previous visits. The tables and chairs looked cheap, no table cloths, bare floor boards, two other tables were occupied. We had ordered a bottle of wine in the bar which we brought through and the waitress brought the water we asked for. Then we waited and waited. After 45 mins mins we asked how long it would be for our starters to arrive. The waitress went back to the kitchen and said they would be 5-10 mins. Husband asked to see the manager and we were told he had left. We asked to see the duty manager but were told there wasn't one. We had not been given any bread or offered anything else while we were waiting and we decided it was time to go. We asked for the bill, I noticed the wine was charged at £3 more than on the menu, we gave the waitress our card and a payment and asked for the manager to phone us the following day. It is now 5 days after and we have not had the courtesy of a call from him. Enough said.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinesseCollection, Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

“Dear Madam,
We have read your review and apologise for the various points you have brought to our attention. During the week, the hotel provides accommodation for various key companies in the area and we do not stipulate a dress code as this may be seen as prohibitive to guests. The restaurant ‘Sage’ has not changed in location although we do offer the larger Rawdon Room for Sunday lunch as you correctly mention. We are very sorry that you had to wait the length of time and have conducted an internal investigation regarding this as we have many other reviews from satisfied customers on the quality, quantity and service of food and drink which are reported on trip adviser. We will be providing a suitable offer to you in the hope you will return to the hotel to restore your faith once more.
Thank you.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Suspect this place will close soon. Has all the feel of Fawlty Towers and a failing business. Old neglected building. Shabby rooms. Door didn’t even lock. Have chair underneath it. Staff who are struggling. £99 for this. Won’t be back

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank YachtSuzannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinesseCollection, Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

“Dear Madam,
We wish to acknowledge your review on trip advisor. We would be grateful if you could provide your contact details to the hotel in order for a full understanding of your stay in order to respond professionally and accurately. The hotel is on target for a detailed refurbishment with a positive customer base who attend the hotel regularly. We would very much like to understand and respond accordingly to your experience. We are looking forward to a very prosperous future which we would like to share with you.
Thank you.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Stayed at Donington Manor a few times now, first time we had room number one which was huge but the furniture was very outdated. Most recently, we stayed in room 4 which was much more modern - the bathroom was great and very clean. However it was rather cold so we had to have a heater - part of this coldness I presume was due to the quite thin windows? At night we could hear the live music from the pub across the street at 11 at night (although I think the live music is only on on Fridays). Although the food was very goo, the staff were very friendly and the hotel itself was quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first landing from 4 upwards seem to be more modern
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingpige0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews