We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
104
94
89
52
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
94
89
52
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea gun room champagne breakfast wowcher deal sage restaurant christmas lunch scones large room booked a table yogurt meal castle venue teas mains derby
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We would like to thank you for a most successful evening, the whole evening was supported well by your attentive staff members, the food was perfect, and the desserts were divine.

We had excellent feedback from members with the allergy menu saying the food was of a high level and was well organised.

We look forward to using the Manor for future events and will highly recommend the venue to friends

Thank you from all of the Twinning Association

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank cdtwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinesseCollection, General Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello CDTwin,
Thankyou for your lovely review on your recent visit to Donington Manor Hotel!
Here at The Manor, we pride ourselves on delivering the best service and experience for all of our guests.
We are very pleased to hear that all of your members, including yourselves, were satisfied with your dining and service experience.
If you are interested in any future offers for venue hire, please visit our website or get in touch!

For any further questions or queries about our service, please do not hesitate to get in contact myself, Sven Nel, General Manager.

Thankyou again for your lovely feedback, we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Our room had many problems. First the kettle did not work . This was changed, then there was no remote for the tv. One was found for us. The room itself number 24 was very scruffy and very dated!! We could not get the door to lock neither could the maintenance man so at this point we asked to be moved. We then had room 22 which was much better. What we could not understand was why they put us in such a bad room when a better one was available. We had booked from the website and paid £89 so it was not a last minute thing. The breakfast was also problematic as I had phoned to ask if they could do a gluten free breakfast and been told yes that would be no problem., but they had no gluten free bread and no information from the waitress on what I could safely eat. This hotel seems poorly run and I would not recommend staying there!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinesseCollection, General Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello Ruth,
Thankyou for sharing your experience with us, here at The Manor. Your opinion matters to us.
We are saddened to hear that your stay with us was not to your expectations.
Currently, we are undergoing a complete turn-over of staff and training, which shall see some improvement to the service of the hotel, back to its usual high standard.
Our staff are always here to cater for your needs, and to provide you the best experience possible.

For any further questions or queries about our service, please do not hesitate to get in contact myself, Sven Nel, General Manager.

Thankyou again for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We live locally and thought we would try the restaurant out as we had heard good reports about the food'
Booked a meal for 7.00 arrived early and had a drink in the bar, ordered our main course
and in due course we were invited into the dining room where we waited and waited and eventually the food arrived, the meals were as described on the menu and were excellent
we were cleared and then ordered a shared cheese board this eventually arrived about 9.00 I think a two hour wait to get the second course is not exceptable and when we spoke to the duty manager we were offered a free drink or a reduction in the price we explained that a free drink or whatever did not fix it and although the food was good we will not be returning soon even though we can walk there in ten minutes.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinesseCollection, General Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello David,
Thankyou for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to Donington Manor.
We are saddened to hear that your experience was not completely up to your expectations.
Currently, we are looking into a changes in our staffing rota, and the way in which we train our staff for front-of-house and services.
We are aware of the waiting time for service, and will act of this immediately in due course.
On a positive note, we are pleased to hear that you and your entourage enjoyed your main meal and shared cheeseboard.

For any further questions or queries about our service, please do not hesitate to get in contact myself, Sven Nel, General Manager.
Thankyou again for your feedback, we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Stayed one night in April 2018. I work in the area and for some reason all my usual hotels had bumped up their prices so stayed here as they had a courtyard room for £49 room only. The hotel is part of a "Finesse collection" but definately didnt have any for me! First some positives. The toiletries were nice, towels were nice and fluffly, room was clean. Negatives and things the hotel could improve on: Room 28 wasnt labelled from the courtyard door so i spent 5 minutes looking for it, the room had apparently recently had some new wallpaper on one wall but was very poorly done and the rest of the room needs new carpet, curtains and the bathroom redoing to bring it up to modern standard. I couldnt find the TV remote so asked at reception for one...went back an hour later after no-one had come back to me. Eventually found one and it worked for 10 minutes then the batteries obviously ran out. The TV signal was very poor, 7 channels with snowy picture and awful sound, i ended up turning it off. The shower over bath shower head doesnt fit in the holder. The fire alarm went off at 7:30 AM for about 15 seconds. Bed (twin room) initially seemed comfy but kept waking up in the night with pins and needles where i'd gone numb. The pillows were awful. No-one on reception at check out, waited 5 minutes, so left my business card asking them to send me the VAT receipt as couldnt stand to be there any longer. At check in the receptionist didnt have any sense of urgency with 4 people waiting and didnt explain were anything was etc. and her dress was very nice but far too short to be professional. Can't comment on the food as didnt have any. This hotel needs some money spending on it to keep up with modernity, could be a really nice place. Definately won't be staying again unless desperate which is a shame as if it was nice i could be staying up to 3 nights a week.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinesseCollection, Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

“Dear Madam,
We have read the review and wish to send our apologies for your experience when you stayed. We have investigated the points outlined and rectified various maintenance points you have brought to our attention. The courtyard room is outside the hotel and sold at a relative price considering it is part of the refurbishment plans, we would be delighted to offer a return visit in one of our upgraded rooms with the opportunity to sample our food as you mentioned you did not get chance. We take on board all constructive feedback please be assured and thank you for your positive feedback regarding the toiletries, the standard of our towels and the cleanliness of the room.
Thank you.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

I booked this hotel as a convenient location for an overnight stop on my journey up to Hull from Dorset. The room was very much a single and quite small. The furnishing were very dated and generally the hotel had the feel of being passed it's best with insufficient funds being generated to reinvest in the fabric of the building and the decor and furnishings.
The standard of cleanliness was fine, and ok for a one night stay where I was asleep most of the time, but I expected better for £69.00 for B&B

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidL408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinesseCollection, Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

“Dear Sir,
We very much thank you for your feedback and review. We do have one single room which is targeted as part of a refurbishment plan this year as we appreciate the fabric and furniture requires updating in line with the Grade II listed heritage and character of the building. We also thank you for the comments on cleanliness and your successful nights sleep. We would be delighted to invite you back to the hotel to either experience a higher grade of room or when we complete the refurbishment plan development.
Thank you.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews