We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dale View

Dale View, overlooking Wensleydale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dale View, overlooking Wensleydale
The lounge Hot chocolate in front of a roaring fire!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Dale View, overlooking Wensleydale
The lounge
Hot chocolate in front of a roaring fire!
A cosy night in!
Dale View
The upper terrace, looking out to Riber Castle and Matlock
The lower terrace, over looking what the locals call the 'toothbrush' hill
The unspoilt village of Wensley
The view over to Riber Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eunice b
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Retreat”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely long weekend at this beautiful, cosy, peaceful and welcoming cottage. Fabulous views. Although the weather was wet and windy we still managed to get out and about with our chocolate lab, who enjoyed his stay as much as us. So relaxing, just what the doctor ordered to unwind and recharge our batteries . The cottage had everything you could need and we loved it’s originality and quirkiness. Nice food at the Old Bowling Green pub in Winster and our dog was welcome too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and good to hear the Old Bowling Green still doing great food!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakira H
2 reviews
“Beautiful holiday rental in a beautiful place”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Although we were not traveling for leisure the cottage was a beautiful base for us. The charm of the cottage matched with its picturesque views made it a wonderful stay. Coming home every night and sitting by the fire was wonderful. I would recommend staying here if you want to visit the Peak District as there are so many beautiful locations nearby.
Thanks for a lovely stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Hi Shakira. Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the cottage and its views. I hope your friend is progressing well and returning to good health. Kind Regards Elaine Johnson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottie19...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, Spent a idyllic cottage.”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a lovely week at Dale View, very comfortable and quiet, everything we wanted in an ideal location. Big log fires, glass or two of wine and good music on the cd player. Kitchen basic but functional (don't cook big meals when on holiday!) Bed very comfy, and cottage very cosy. Every one exceptionally friendly!!
Can only think of two things that were very frustrating, - leaking shower MUST be fixed, if not just to save huge expense when joists finally rot and to keep dry when standing in kitchen!!
and also wasn't keen on next doors dogs' just wandering into the little garden and using as their loo, we 'cleared' up after our dog and didn't expect or want to clean up after other dogs as well. Some sort of higher gate/fence could stop that maybe? Apart from that - perfect, would definitely recommend this lovely cottage and will be back for a long weekend. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, quiet, comfortable
Liked least: Leaking shower into kitchen below
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Good to hear you found the cottage cosy and the bed comfy. The leaky shower is not straight forward as it is movement in the joists that cause it - it will need the whole floor coming out! We are planning an updating of the kitchen and bathroom later this year, so we will resolve it once and for all at that point. I will speak to the neighbour about her dog - you are right, he shouldn't be wandering in and making a mess.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martian17...
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“cozy, tranquil cottage with great view”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This old cottage is tucked away in a tiny village near Matlock, really cozy, private with a fantastic view. The kitchen feels a bit 'back in time', but it's all part of the charm. The water pressure is a bit low but we managed to get the shower to work. It's a great location to tour around in the Peak District. We are very happy with our stay in the Dale View - very appropriately named!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomordish
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, amazing setting!”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great little cottage which is stuated in a lovely spot. The views and walks around the cottage, perched on the top of a lovely little valley, are awesome. Very helpful owner and a warm welcome from Jack the neighbours dog (and the friendly neighbour). Would recommend to anyone as long as they don't use it when we next want it! Many thanks Elaine for such a lovely long weekend break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely old world feel of the cottage and gorgeous location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing