We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hathersage(Hathersage)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Hathersage)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Plough Inn(Hathersage)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
The Maynard(Grindleford)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
The Norfolk Arms(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
92
44
16
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
44
16
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat foodthe pubpielamb shankpeak districtfour poster bedcomfortable roombakewell puddingchantenay carrotssame qualitypleasant place to staypretty villagechips and mushy peasegyptian cotton towelsgood home cooked foodmelt in the mouthfull english breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Truly enjoyed the experience at Scotsman's Pack pub- staff was very polite, my haloomi cheese dish was omg to die for! Highly recommended! So if you are looking for a nice lunch after great walk here - you are at the right place!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Olga

Thank you very much forr your review, we are glad you enjoyed your Halloumi!

See you again soon!

Kind Regards
Ash
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Great location, great food, great staff. What more do you want???
The pub was full to the brim which speaks for itself. Staff very helpful and couldn't do enough for us and others. The food is excellent.
Many thanks

Room Tip: Some noise can be heard until pub shuts but wasn't a problem for us
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graingersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank You very much for your kind review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your weekend stay!

Kind Regards
Ash
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My wife and I stopped at The Scotsman's Pack during the bank holiday weekend in August. First impression was of a pleasant Pub, with accommodation. The room was acceptable, with a comfortable bed (albeit with cheap, uncomfortable pillows!) The Bathroom was rather cramped.
We decided to have our evening meal in the bar. My Wife ordered the Vegetarian Sausages and mash but asked if she could have ordinary sausages instead. When the meals came, my wife was inexplicably given a child's portion consisting of one small sausage, a tablespoon of peas and a small portion of mash! I had the Gammon and Chips. The Gammon was actually very good, but the chips looked like some ancient artifacts dredged from the bottom of an old chip pan!
After a walk around the village, we returned to the bar for a drink. I approached the bar, there being no-one else waiting to be served, and was ignored by the bar staff for several minutes! Two of them were poring over some paperwork on the other side of the bar, whilst the other was fiddling with a music player behind the bar....
In the morning, our intention to have a lie-in until 09.00 was shattered by a noisy Brewery delivery at 07.30 , a rubbish collection 15 minutes later, and finally a man with a noisy petrol leaf-blower blowing leaves around the car park! Whilst the first two disturbances were probably unavoidable, there is no excuse for the latter!
So on to breakfast.....the breakfast was truly outstanding (but not in a good way!) and marked the first time I have never been able to eat a cooked breakfast! I had asked for the fried egg to be cooked hard, but it was totally runny! The sausages were of the ultra-cheap low quality variety, were served cold, and were inedible. The meagre portion of cheap baked beans was cold, the narrow strips of streaky bacon were mostly fat and were again, cold! The only edible item was the cooked tomato which was, amazingly, hot! The toast was quite good (but cold) and the tea was astonishingly weak and contained the world's thinnest, cheapest teabag!
Overall a disappointing stay! The staff were surly and disinterested, and there were just too many things wrong for me to recommend this pub in any way! My wife and I make a point of going away for weekends several times a year, and unfortunately this was the worst experience we have had!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to reduce early morning noise!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We would like to thank yourself and your wife for both going out of the way to leave us a review. That's true dedication.

Kind Regards
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived late on Friday night. But once settled in my room I came down to a reserved table in the bar. Great beer and fantastic menu. Went for the steak and ale pie with chips and mushy peas. Very tasty. Great night's sleep in good size double bed. En suite was a bit snug but did the necessary. Courtesy proper Bakewell tart went down very well. Unfortunately had to be up and out at about 6.30 the next day so was not able to sample breakfast which did not start until much later. With a pie as good as the steak and ale I would forgive them that. Parking was limited outside which could be a problem.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank RDT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank You for your review - we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

As you have stated, sometimes parking can be difficult when we are especially busy, but we are glad it didn't affect you

Kind Reagrds
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We spent one night here having stopped at this village for the hiking. Very much the feel of rooms over the pub versus hotel or even BnB. I think they have five rooms total. Our room was a decent size with a characteristically small but perfectly adequate bathroom. All very clean. We had a front room which overlooked the street but there was no traffic noise at night or early morning. We were there midweek so the pub was not crowded and there was no noise from that either. We also ate dinner there - restaurant choices are fairly limited in this small town. Pub fare prett good. Restaurant and rooms were reasonably priced. There was a problem with fuses and we had no lights in the bathroom in the morning. Not unexpected for such an old building and it was no big deal. The general area is very picturesque; we greatly enjoyed the "Jane Eyre hike," despite quite rainy and windy conditions.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

We are glad that the blown fuse didnt spoil your visit, hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews