We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation food & pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Scotsman's Pack
Ranked #3 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2017

staff are fantastic, a big mention to Ash ,who did everything to make our stay wonderful. Robert the amazing housekeeper is bubbly & a fantastic host . The rooms are clean,warm great facilities. Everything under one roof , makes for such a great stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank johno28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Hi Johno,

Thanks for your review (and the mention), we are all really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Called in with friends knowing nothing about this pub or the area, we'd simply jumped on the train for a ride out and a search for country pubs. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the food menu was varied. When the food we were astounded at how good it was. We'll definitely be back - and happy to make the hours drive to get there.

Room Tip: Book a table in advance - we visited on a Saturday and many of the tables were reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank xfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank Ypu For your kind Review - we are very happy that you enjoyed your experience and we look froward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards
Ash
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Truly enjoyed the experience at Scotsman's Pack pub- staff was very polite, my haloomi cheese dish was omg to die for! Highly recommended! So if you are looking for a nice lunch after great walk here - you are at the right place!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Olga

Thank you very much forr your review, we are glad you enjoyed your Halloumi!

See you again soon!

Kind Regards
Ash
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Great location, great food, great staff. What more do you want???
The pub was full to the brim which speaks for itself. Staff very helpful and couldn't do enough for us and others. The food is excellent.
Many thanks

Room Tip: Some noise can be heard until pub shuts but wasn't a problem for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graingersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank You very much for your kind review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your weekend stay!

Kind Regards
Ash
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

My wife and I stopped at The Scotsman's Pack during the bank holiday weekend in August. First impression was of a pleasant Pub, with accommodation. The room was acceptable, with a comfortable bed (albeit with cheap, uncomfortable pillows!) The Bathroom was rather cramped.
We decided to have our evening meal in the bar. My Wife ordered the Vegetarian Sausages and mash but asked if she could have ordinary sausages instead. When the meals came, my wife was inexplicably given a child's portion consisting of one small sausage, a tablespoon of peas and a small portion of mash! I had the Gammon and Chips. The Gammon was actually very good, but the chips looked like some ancient artifacts dredged from the bottom of an old chip pan!
After a walk around the village, we returned to the bar for a drink. I approached the bar, there being no-one else waiting to be served, and was ignored by the bar staff for several minutes! Two of them were poring over some paperwork on the other side of the bar, whilst the other was fiddling with a music player behind the bar....
In the morning, our intention to have a lie-in until 09.00 was shattered by a noisy Brewery delivery at 07.30 , a rubbish collection 15 minutes later, and finally a man with a noisy petrol leaf-blower blowing leaves around the car park! Whilst the first two disturbances were probably unavoidable, there is no excuse for the latter!
So on to breakfast.....the breakfast was truly outstanding (but not in a good way!) and marked the first time I have never been able to eat a cooked breakfast! I had asked for the fried egg to be cooked hard, but it was totally runny! The sausages were of the ultra-cheap low quality variety, were served cold, and were inedible. The meagre portion of cheap baked beans was cold, the narrow strips of streaky bacon were mostly fat and were again, cold! The only edible item was the cooked tomato which was, amazingly, hot! The toast was quite good (but cold) and the tea was astonishingly weak and contained the world's thinnest, cheapest teabag!
Overall a disappointing stay! The staff were surly and disinterested, and there were just too many things wrong for me to recommend this pub in any way! My wife and I make a point of going away for weekends several times a year, and unfortunately this was the worst experience we have had!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to reduce early morning noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaReay, General Manager at The Scotsman's Pack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We would like to thank yourself and your wife for both going out of the way to leave us a review. That's true dedication.

Kind Regards
Ash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.5 km away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
233 reviews
0.5 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
404 reviews
1.3 km away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millstone Country Inn
Millstone Country Inn
#2 of 4 in Hathersage
339 reviews
6.4 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
0.8 km away
YHA Hathersage
YHA Hathersage
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scotsman's Pack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scotsman's Pack

Address: School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range: RM406 - RM453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scotsman's Pack 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Scotsman's Pack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing