We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Venue - for work or for play”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom
Superking en-suite bedroom
Spacious and comfortable lounge with stunning views
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Dining room with a view
All bedrooms are en-suite
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Beautifully light and airy atrium
Superking en-suite bedroom
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maren m
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Venue - for work or for play”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I had the privilege of staying at Sladen Lodge as part of a work based training assignment. It surpassed my expectations. The lodge was spotlessly clean, the food was delicious, the proprietors were exceptionally warm and concerned, but they also always managed to remain "in the background" as we executed our endeavours and as they supported us.
The drive to the location was spectacular. And the coffee! Love them for the coffee alone.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The silence of night time in the Peak District....
Liked least: The lack of time to explore the town
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a Group gathering”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A group of eight of us used Sladen Lodge last week for a two day work-and-play retreat.

The Lodge is welcoming and comfortable and Julie keeps it immaculately.

She was the best of hostesses, offering us amazing breakfasts and even better lunches and the venue worked perfectly for our meetings, whilst the setting gave us glorious countryside to explore during down-time.

If you do host a corporate or group event, then please ask for Emma Glossop (who lives locally) to prepare your evening meals - her culinary art knows no bounds and we could have been in a five-star restaurant, judging by her superbly delivered menus.

Thank you Julie, for a memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and the cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2013
Thank you Mike for your wonderful review. We're delighted that you enjoyed the Lodge and the location was suitable for your two day event. Emma Glossop at Gourmet Express always provides superb food and I will pass on your comments to her.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevemuz
clee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

i wanted to write this review to share & let people know how good sladen lodge is.
right from the first contact thru to the weekend itself anna & the owners were brilliant in terms of helping me to organise our weekend.
we as a group have travelled quite extensively abroad & at home for long weekends & longer holidays & we all agreed that sladen lodge was as good if not better than any house, apartment or villa that we'd stayed in before.
as well as being in a brilliant position with amazing views & a lovely place (hathersage) its got more than enough of all the amenities you might need, they have 2 of all the important things ie kettles, fridge/freezer, dishwasher's even 2 kitchens. even the little things were better than most places, ie enough cutlery for everyone 3 times over & plenty of glasses etc, even loads of spare tea towels lol.
the house itself is big & spacious and very clean, the bedrooms are top quality, very comfortable and the power showers were excellent too, i cant recommend this place highly enough, & im pretty sure we will be going there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: there wasnt anything to not like
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S T
oxford
1 review
“Superb house for a large group”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Excellent property, very comfortable and superbly located. Very well equipped for a large self-catering group (we were a party of 16). The owners were friendly, helpful and well organised. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickandSh...
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly designed for big groups”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

There were 14 of us. All the bedrooms are of a similar, good size with on-suite bathrooms so no-one could say they drew the short straw and got the box room! We were a girls group so we requested all single beds - no problem whatsoever. Large lounge with comfy sofas, a smaller, quieter lounge and a lovely, light central area running through the middle of the house. Pine table big enough for us all to sit together. Two kitchens with so much equipment that you never run out. Having two dishwashers was a bonus too. Set back from the road and up a hill, gave it great views across the hills. We were fortunate to have gorgeous sunny weather so we made the most of the outdoor seating which is south facing. The owners were easily contactable if we had any problems, which we didn't! Great place within easy walking distance of Hathersage centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious.
Liked least: No views for bedrooms on back of house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing