We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a find!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tideswell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JedAftert...
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Tideswell is a beautiful village in a south-facing valley (Tideswell Dale) that leads down to the picturesque Wye Valley. Lavender Cottage is a small terraced house with a double bedroom and twin bedroom up narrow steps from the living, dining and kitchen area. Bathroom is modern and has both shower and bath with instant gas hot water that never runs out: perfect for chasing away the aches from long walks in the beautiful Peak District! We loved our time here: you can walk out the front or back door and be on your way to an Ordnance Survey map-fest; spend your evenings planning the route and then set off the next morning. The village has all you need with local butcher and baker and post office etc; there is a wee co-op supermarket; gorgeous old church with stunning carvings inside; and picturesque back streets (the village has won Most Beautiful in Derbyshire). Washing machine and dishwasher available if you want. If you choose to come in winter there is central heating and a wood burner stove; everything is beautifully clean and well maintained. But you must have good mobility to get upstairs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your kind words and excellent feedback, we really appreciate it! Just to add for other potential guests, the cottage is on a hillside hence the steps up into the garden, so there is a handrail. There are also handrails on the wind around staircase inside.
Enjoy the rest of your travels in the UK and Europe J and J!
Best wishes
Ruth and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hthomas13...
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - cosy and very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A very comfortable and well maintained cottage, perfect for myself, husband and adult daughter to spend a couple of days getting away from it all! The cottage is well equipped, with the added bonus of wifi, and the beds are extremely comfortable. It's village location is perfect for walking or visiting nearby attractions and pubs, cafes and chip shops mean there is no need to cook!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Many thanks for your kind words Helen.
Best wishes
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulinem9...
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Me, my Husband and our two teenage two boys stayed for a couple of nights at this lovely cottage. It was a lovely perfectly quaint cottage, with everything we needed to live comfortably. We loved the log burner and large table to play games at. We visited all the pubs in the village and enjoyed some fish and chips from Elliott's!. We did a couple of circular walks from the book in the cottage. Lovely stay in a warm, cosy Cottage that had everything we needed. Even some lovely treats for when we arrived (tea, coffee, milk, jams and wine! Thanks for a great stay, we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edbutler2...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Small and perfectly-formed”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Really enjoyed everything about our stay. Te weather was pretty bad for our three days so we spent more time in than we'd expected, and it was really cosy, the beds were comfortable, and apart from one minor challenge with the radiator in one room, it was all very snug and warm. The hosts laid on a few basics in the fridge as well enough timber for regular fires. Would definitely come again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T
1 review
“Lovely cottage in the perfect village”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely terraces cottaage, close to the centre of the village, great walks from the door. Three pubs close by. Cottage very tidy, clean and well equipped.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing