We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
153 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 153 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cowlingjn
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Becky and Matt have created a luxurious home from home. Becky was welcoming right from the start and we really appreciated the welcome pack of wine, chocolate and nibbles with milk in the fridge. There is everything needed for an extremely comfortable stay and would highly recommend Ivy cottage which is also excellent value for money. We have stayed in many self catering cottages and this is certainly the best ever!
Although the weather left a lot to be desired we really enjoyed the area and the village is wonderful. The locals were very friendly and the village shop a mine of information.
Would definitely love to return and especially stay in Ivy Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The bathroom!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenCOzK...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb house to rent”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A great weekend in the Peak District. Ivy Cottage is a superb house to rent. Very well supplied kitchen and the house is beautifully done up everywhere. Very warm and snug.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serena j
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our second visit and hopefully not the last!”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is pure bliss with a cherry on top. It's spacious but very cosy. The owners have thought of everything from welcoming wine and ground coffee right down to spare winter blankets and night torches. From the second you arrive it feels like home, so much so that it's saddening to leave. We can honestly say that Ivy Cottage is our favourite luxury retreat and that we are hoping that the future owners will consider keeping it as a holiday let. Matt and Becky the owners should be so proud of this little gem, it truly is a wonderful piece of heaven. Well done and thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy M
St Albans, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in the picturesque village of Winster, a few mins walk away from a pub which serves really good homemade food and a little shop. We bought the walks around Winster booklet from the shop and enjoyed several amazing walks without having to get in the car. Bonus for me was the best patchwork and embroidery shop I've ever been to in Darley Dale. The cottage had everything we needed and the owners were very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the bedrooms got v cold at night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyLaurel
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Check out that bath...”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in this beautiful cottage over New Year with old friends. As one of the first to arrive we immediately checked out the best bedroom - we struggled to judge however, which was better: a gorgeous double ensuite or a bed big enough for three?!
The main bathroom is another joy to behold. The large shower has side jets where you can choose to be soaked from the usual shower position or from four jets protruding from the wall. I plumped for alternating between the two. There is also a bath big enough to swim in, or for two if you are that way inclined!
We loved the surround sound in the supremely cosy main sitting room area, and we duly watched Home Alone 2 as is fitting for the festive season. There was an excellent selection of board games which gave us many evenings of entertainment. We were especially intrigued by the 'His and Hers' game and had hours of fun guessing the gun types (for the girls) and the personal grooming products (for the boys)!
We really enjoyed utilising the dining room, enjoying hearty meals we made from scratch in the spacious kitchen, and found the cottage big enough to enjoy some quiet time reading alone when the din of catch-up chat got too much! We also enjoyed a daily walk in the local countryside (having bought a 75p walking guide from the village shop - thoroughly recommended), although the really comfy sofas dotted around the cottage put paid to any plans to roam outside all day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't fault the cottage - one of the nicest places I've stayed
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing