We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Cosy Cottage”
Briar Cottage entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Briar Cottage entrance
parking area the Living area with gas-coals fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Briar Cottage entrance
parking area
the Living area with gas-coals fire
dining area
kitchenette
large bedroom
dressing table in the bedroom
shower area
wash basin, wc & bidet in the shower area
Heathcote House adjacent
Winster Wakes in July
additional parking in the orchard
Bowling Green Public House
Miners Standard PH at the top of West Bank
Village shop and Post Office
Winster Hall in Main Street
one of the many footpaths from Winster
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael W
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Christmas stay”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We booked the cottage at the last minute clean however very small lounge / kitchen for even two people We had stayed a week and nearly became utterly stuck on sat 27/12/14 due to extreme weather however the owner suggested we could negotiate 1 extra day! We however a arrived home with difficulty feels better in my view many other larger other cottages to stay were we haven't had many a pleasant stay michael& Elaine

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisandP...
warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived at Briar cottage last weekend 17th October late on the Friday evening,I had been ill all week and was unsure whether we would be able to make it.So glad we were able to. Anne had put the lights on for us and the gas coal fire was on making the cottage lovely warm and cosy for our arrival. The cottage is spotlessly clean and in a very quiet courtyard in the lovely village of Winster. The Bedroom is lovely and very spacious and the bathroom is beautiful and has the the most amazing shower. would highly recommend for a lovely quiet get away and cant wait to come back. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frojo57
northampton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in attractive village”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Cosy cottage in attractive village with lots of lovely walking nearby

Bathroom is amazing

Local shop a few doors away on mainstreet

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohayes14...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is an older review due to my own tardiness but my boyfriend and I stayed at Briar Cottage for his birthday weekend back in March. The cottage itself is actually far prettier than even in the pictures, perfect for a cosy weekend (or longer if we could book the time). The little kitchen is compact but we managed (ahem, I managed) to cook breakfast every day and an evening meal one night we stayed. The bathroom is AMAZING - as you would find in a really good boutique hotel which is a problem for my other half who has trouble getting me to hurry up in there at the best of times.

The owners Anne and Emlyn were both lovely and extremely helpful.

Winster is a beautiful village, very picturesque and near to Matlock and Bakewell and loads of good walks nearby. In Winster itself there are two pubs and we visited both (rude not to). They both do food and although we only ate at one (the one which wasn't up a really steep hill - can't remember the name) it was good pub food.

I have recommended Briar Cottage to several friends and we have already booked to stay again at the end of November.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Absolutely amazing few days in this beautiful cottage. Thank you to Anne who was extremely welcoming on arrival.
The cottage is everything you can imagine for the most restful few days away from home. It is very cosy and has amazing walks which we would recommend to anyone staying. The bathroom is defiantly a big plus with a huge rainfall shower!!
We will defiantly be back again next year and I would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$94
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing