We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy little place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hollywell Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miss G R
2 reviews
“Cosy little place”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed at Hollywell Cottage last weekend. a lovely little place. Gorgeous views of Wirkworth and only half hour walk. Location of cottage was very quiet and peaceful. Lovely, clean and well equipped throughout. It is dog friendly and has large paddock for dogs run in. My only concern was my dog on the sofa, a good idea to take a rug/blanket to cover sofa if your dog is prone to use sofa with you!
Really enjoyed my stay, great place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Small and cosy with great views
Liked least: A door that rattled constantly when windy outside, pale bedlinen with dog!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay.”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very good base for discovering Derbyshire. Well equipped cosy accommodation. The bird life around the property was very interesting for birdwatchers.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
090861
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay.”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked as a last minute break for 3 nights as my partner had been feeling a bit out of sorts recently. We booked and paid on Tripadviser with paypal (dead easy). On arrival, Andrew showed us round what turned out to be a lovely cottage. There was a paddock adjoining, which Oscar loved. Everything in the cottage was clean and well thought out. We cooked a meal on the last night and there was nothing that we needed that wasn't provided (apart from the food, of course). The cottage is well posisioned for walking and on the first day we did Wirksworth, Cromford, Cromford Canal, Black Rock and back home. A lovely walk On the second day we drove the short distance to Carsington Water and walked around there. The weather was lovely and i enjoyed a few pints in the welcoming and very dog friendly Malt Shovel on our return. we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage and have indeed paid much more for very inferior cottages which were adverised as 'luxury' and were most certainly far from it. Thanks again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay and great location”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Hollywell Lodge which is well equipped, comfortable and relaxing. The cottage has its own private entrance and patio area with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. There is a local pub down the road and the centre of Wirksworth (with pubs/restaurants/tea shops etc) is approximately 20 minutes away on foot. This cottage is ideal for those who love walking and cycling. We enjoyed cycling the Tissington Trail and around Carsington Water, both nearby. The stunning Chatsworth House is a short drive away and a must-see. We also enjoyed visiting the Crich tram museum, Wirksworth steam railway, Ashbourne and Bakewell. Thank you to the owners Rob and Tracy for a very enjoyable visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing