We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hollywell Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
123Bunty1...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just had a 4 day break at Hollywell Lodge, Perfect accommodation in a perfect location, there were 3 of us, myself my partner and our 13 year old Son, plus our family pooch Bentley.
The Lodge is an annex of the Owners property, very private and quiet, plenty of room for everyone, very tastefully decorated and really comfortable. Beautiful scenery no matter what the weather and we had it all in the 4 days. Lovely long walks or short strolls all on the doorstep.
There is a paddock attached great for the dog to run free and have fun.
And for the 13 yr old .... a Playstation and WIFI
We had a fabulous Italian meal at Viva in Matlock, we didnt get round to trying the Local but it looked warm and welcoming, in short we'd definitley go again x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelH44...
1 review
“Cosy, clean and well equipped cottage in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a lovely 4 day break at Hollywell Lodge. Robert the cottage owner was efficient with correspondence from the beginning and very welcoming upon arrival. The location is perfect with just a short drive to all. The view is outstanding from the cottage looking out across the Derbyshire dales. The cottage was exceptional value for money, very clean, well equipped and spacious for our 2 young children. Highly recommend the welcoming pub just a few minutes walk away which had roaring fires and great food. We look forward to returning again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss G R
2 reviews
“Cosy little place”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed at Hollywell Cottage last weekend. a lovely little place. Gorgeous views of Wirkworth and only half hour walk. Location of cottage was very quiet and peaceful. Lovely, clean and well equipped throughout. It is dog friendly and has large paddock for dogs run in. My only concern was my dog on the sofa, a good idea to take a rug/blanket to cover sofa if your dog is prone to use sofa with you!
Really enjoyed my stay, great place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Small and cosy with great views
Liked least: A door that rattled constantly when windy outside, pale bedlinen with dog!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay.”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very good base for discovering Derbyshire. Well equipped cosy accommodation. The bird life around the property was very interesting for birdwatchers.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing