We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hollywell Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ceri M
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We recently stayed at the property with our children (5 & 2). We had a lovely time and the kids absolutely adored the bunk beds, although they didn't get to sleep very early!!! The cottage had everything we needed and the owner even put balloons and banners up for our daughters birthday. Great base for exploring

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auntie_La...
Paso Robles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely home-away-from-home”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Hollywell Lodge is an adorable, perfect slice of English hospitality. Although there was only two of us staying, Hollywell could easily and comfortably accommodate more with the sofa in the living room, bunk beds in the second bedroom, and large bed in the master. There was plenty of room for parking and the view over the valley is spectacular.

The local pub is a mere five minute walk down the country lane and the food there is traditional pub grub, classic and well-priced. After sitting down to our meal and pints, we were delighted to see a handful of locals trickle in, friendly dogs in tow, to enjoy an evening pint. Definitely an authentic English experience. Using the flashlight (torch) provided in our rental, we were able to easily make our way back in the darkness to our comfortable abode.

I'd happily recommend Hollywell Lodge to anyone looking for a lovely English getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is wonderful.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia F
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent dog friendly holiday”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked our stay following a weeks training course in Manchester and brought our four year old golden labrador with us. The communication from the time of booking was excellent.

The cottage was well kept, clean and open-plan in the living areas. This was ideal so we could spend time together whilst doing individual things (cooking, watching TV, reading). We were made to feel very welcome. The master bedroom was in good condition and the bed was exceptionally comfortable!

The fenced in paddock was brilliant for wearing out our dog before and after driving into the peak district (he whinges whilst in transit otherwise...). The view from the cottage gates was beautiful, this cottage is exceptionally well placed. The owner provided us with their WIFI password which was great for looking up local sites of interest.

We would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful break in the peak district, especially those with dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view from lodge
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful tranquil place to stay, beautiful location.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary (surprise trip), we loved every minute of it. Clean, tidy, private little getaway, everything you could wish for and more. Thank you so much for the extra little touches. xx We would definitely recommend staying.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc M
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely cosy cottage with modern facilities in lovely peaceful surroundings, close to all the Peak District favourite destinations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$93
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing