We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Property to Stay In”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Hallway Dinning room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Front of property
Hallway
Dinning room
Sitting room
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Triple room
Over the bath shower
Bathroom
Living room
Kitchen
Outside seating
Driveway Parking for at least two cars
Lockable storage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kevin P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Property to Stay In”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The village of Youlgrave is exceptional, this accommodation makes it even more so. The bungalow feels like home from the moment you walk through the door. It is comfortable and warm with modern appliances, It has everything you need to make your stay extra special. Our stay was during the winter months, I wish we could experience a summer in this wonderful accommodation. In the village you have 3 pubs all offering their own style of food, the Farm Yard is certainly well worth a visit and if you are short of fresh vegetables then enjoy a pint in the George and buy your fresh veg at the same time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and warmth of the bungalow
Liked least: There is nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Well that's lovely. Thankyou for your kind words. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt part of the community. Youlgrave really is a fab place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliperr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have had an excelent weekend in a cottage which provided everything we needed. Off road parking and lots of space were very welcome for four adults and two dogs. Would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
Thankyou very much. It's great to hear you will tell others about Hillsway.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david c
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A 4 night stay based around walking, of which there are excellent local walks.
Hillsway is very clean and tidy, welcome pack milk / coffee which is very unusual + lots of good local reference books. Property is up a small cul-de-sac and VERY QUIET. freeview TV, new washer / dryer facilities, gas heating, double glazed. Also the bonus of off road parking. Only gripe is the main bed is a 4' 6" with foot board so if like me you're 6' or over then you can't stretch out. All in all though it's superb value and a great place in the heart of the Peak district. Thoroughly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2015
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn D
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely bungalow in a very quiet culdesac, a lovely welcome card and fresh milk tea etc, very well equipped and very comfortable,and spacious. Over the road and down the lane a lovely dog walk,where our dog could run freely, the village is lovely with all amenities, very close walking distance, the pubs all serve food and let dogs in. We only tried the George which is a few yards down the street, our dog came in with us to eat and the steaks were lovely and reasonably priced,the next evening we had been out all day and just wanted to chill in front of the telly, so we had the takeaway fish and chips from the George, they were lovely, Matlock bakewell and buxton are all within 10 to 15 miles, all in all we had 2 nights, and would love to go back next year

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Happy that you found the local treasure that is the George Hotel. We are very lucky in Youlgrave to have 3 great pubs all with their own unique attributes. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debave
USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Peak District homestead”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Hillsway is a wonderful bungalow perfectly situated for exploring the southern part of the Peak District. It has all the amenities you could ask for (although the changing water pressure and temp is a pain but the owner warns you of this!) and the village itself is lovely. Close to Bakewell and Chatsworth as well as wonderful hikes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our dog particularly loved the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and coziness
Liked least: Changing water temps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Glad you had a good stay. The water pressure in the shower is a on off issue with the village water supply, but I'm glad it wasn't too big an issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$106
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing