We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday lunch”
Review of The Buck Inn

The Buck Inn
Ranked #2 of 70 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in the beautiful rural village of Maunby, in the heart of The Vale of York, you can be sure of a warm Yorkshire welcome at The Buck Inn* Head chef Dave Russell brings his unique personality and expertise to the kitchen with an eclectic menu, cooked fresh using the best of locally sourced, fresh seasonal produce* Yorkshire cask ales* oak beams & log fires* comfortable seating and dining* available for private functions and receptions* free parking* community orientated* we're dog friendly and love cyclists
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Visited the Buck Inn for Lunch on Easter Sunday. Very good food and friendly service.
All 3 courses were excellent. The service was prompt and prices were reasonable.
Enjoyable experience al round.

Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time review us and pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I lived in the area for nearly 50 years yet this was my first visit to a gem of a pub. Great food and beer. Next time, and trust me there will be a next time, I shall sample the specials and a bottle of wine. Thanks to all the staff for a convivial meal.

Thank h00ter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

It’s amazing how many people live locally have never heard of us or visited. So pleased that enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Just met up with family and friends for a pre booked late lunch. The choice was amazing for such a small pub restaurant including a main of Mackerel, Turbot or Confit duck as well as the usual roast options. Delicious starters, we had smoked salmon, goat cheese salad with pickled vegetables, chicken parfait and prawn cocktail and a super range of desserts. I had the chocolate and hazelnut mousse which was so light in texture, it was worth every calorie.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sueh4323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We do try and offer some interesting alternatives to the traditional roasts, nice to hear you appreciated and had a good time. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

It was only a spur of the moment visit and I only knew 5 mins before the end of my shift at work but met my parents there. The food was beautiful and it was just proper homely and comfortable. Friendly service from the bartender and asked him to pass the compliments to the chef. Definitely worth a visit!

Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Pleased you had a great time and enjoyed our ambience and the quality of the food. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We had a great Sunday roast here. The food and service were very good. An excellent venue for a family get together.

Thank Aldergrove47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Buck Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review and it’s pleasing to hear that you had a great time. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buck Inn also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Buck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing