We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bribie Waterways Motel(Bribie Island)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fairways Golf & Beach Retreat(Woorim)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sylvan Beach Resort(Bribie Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
6
16
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
16
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoint hotellocal hotelgreat locationwithin walking distanceunitspassageconcertsandstonecraigbedroombalconyviewswifiapartment
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This complex has a 3 1/2 star rating, but UNIT 25 is substandard and brings the reputation of the whole complex down. Very old furniture, fridge shelves either broken or missing, five indoor chairs for six people, garage is a dumping room for broken furniture and five mattresses.
Lounge furniture stank; a chair had hole in upholstery; kitchen facilities very lacking with only four dessert spoons for six people. Cheap plumbing for the air conditioner leaving puddles of water on the patio. No DVD player. Green algae on bricks and rocks in pool There's more but that's enough to help you decide NOT to book this unit. Photo evidence available.
The management staff were wonderful and very apologetic for not having the unit ready in time. They even helped carry our bags up the stairs. BUT, two cleaners asked to start cleaning unit earlier than 10am day of leaving.

We've been totally ripped off.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated unit
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gaimcd0nald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

These units look to have been built in the '80s, so we didn't expect too much. But the internal renovations have brought them right up to standard. We had 6 units booked and out of these only 1 (I think) had not been renovated in the last few years and it was still of very good standard. I will definitely look at these units again when we are next at Bribie.
Manager was very helpful. We requested a bbq to use for our group, he set up two for us to use, very clean if not one of them new.

Room Tip: It is a 3 storey walk up so remember that when booking if you don't want to lug up luggage.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately our room was on third floor with no lift access. Lovely spacious area and great views but incredibly outdated! Walls in kitchen were filthy, furniture was from the 80's and decor atrocious. Needs to brought into this century!! Walls filthy and yellow and blue paintwork.... Outdoor area was uninviting to say the least.. But all in all we did have a great time with friends, TC aerial wasn't plugged in, lamps had cords wrapped around them? Like seriously when you go away you want everything done?

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Lovely older style accommodation. We felt like we were in someones home. We stayed in Room 21 in the Lucinda (3 bedroom) We had our daughter's wedding at the Sandstone Point Hotel and required several rooms for both the bridal party and guests which Gums Anchorage were able to provide. We had lovely views of the Bribe Passage. Peter & Craig could not do enough for us even providing orange juice for the bridal party's champagne breakfast and driving guests to the wedding in their 7 seater vehicle. We stayed 3 nights - could have stayed longer as Bribie Island is so relaxing.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom Room 21 - Lucinda
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gusontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We arrived at the Gums Anchorage, Bribie Island around 1 am after a late flight into Brisbane, A cheerful and well-mannered manager Craig was waiting to greet us, he opened the electronic gate, we followed him in the car as he lead us by foot through a maze of units to where we were staying No9 it was located on the ground floor as we had requested, and into the adjourning garage that allowed us to walk directly into our unit, were we spent 10 wonderful days (all the rooms were fully booked). The 2 bedroom room unit was really lovely, it had been freshly painted in the fashionable pastel grey with a new modern white serviceable kitchen the new flooring a mixture of new carpet and linoleum was very pleasing; only complaint was the newly painted smell was a little overpowering so we opened the window to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews