We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
17
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This was a beautiful quiet calm green place to stay. The simplicity was a welcome change to busy city living with all the trappings. To see the milky way, the new moon, knee high grass, geese, the fruit trees & crops, the list goes on......was such a treat. Our 9 year old son loved the animals. It was very interesting talking to Wendy about her property & how she works the land. We also enjoyed meeting Laura from Boston who is a WWOOFER (Willing Workers on Organic Farms), she was helping Wendy. I would highly recommend Hill Top Farm to anyone wanting something more meaningful, this was a really wonderful experience.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Perfect spot for getting away from it all. Wendy provides comfortable rooms all in a relaxed, pleasant environment. The outdoor kitchen has everything you need to self cater. Wendy was most accommodating for our whole family (2 adults and two teenagers) including the dogs! The fresh fruit was replaced regularly and Wendy event gave us one of her first Mangoes! Wendy is very knowledgeable and everyone could learn something from her. Call this Hill Top farm what you will, farm-stay, nature retreat, eco lodge, outback experience or similar, I just call it the place we've been looking for! We'll be coming back here again, and again.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whiteys000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at Hill Top Farmstay. A great "outback" adventure for our family. My wife and two young daughters (11 and 14) and I spent two excellent nights here. Wendy's farm is an incredible demonstration of permaculture - a sustainable and self-maintained farm based on natural ecosystems. We learned so much from her in our short visit there. If you are looking for a place to get away from everything, breathe some wonderful air and see the most amazing night sky - this is the place. A perfect base camp for Willie Gordon's Guurrbi tours and anything in the Cooktown area. Wildlife everywhere! A fully equipped camp kitchen with refrigerator, stovetop, and running water. Wonderful, outdoor solar showers and the occasional visit from some amazing tropical frogs. Wendy has really created an ecologically responsible and sustainable place in Far North Queensland. If you are looking for the Four Seasons - this isn't it. If you are looking to experience the outdoors, the land, and the living things of the Cape York Peninsula, book a few nights here. Everything living closely together as nature intended. Birds, amphibians, humans, horses, dogs, insects, and cows. Lots of fun! We will be back. Tell Wendy that Dave & Lydia sent you.

Room tip: Two choices: stay in the converted shipping container apartment (2 twin beds) or the safari tent (2 twin beds). Both are within a few steps of each other. Mom and dad in the tent and 2 kids in the apartment or vice versa. We had fun mixing it up.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

There's nothing missing here... 20 by 10 ft bedroom .. attached kitchen with stove, fridge for BYO food, sink, benches with all the gear .. kitchen table and chairs .. lounge chairs with coffee table .. camp file with griddle .. and the VIEW !
We spent 4 nights at Hill Top. Enjoyed BBQ dinner done on the griddle followed by a glass/s of wine watching the sunset. Fresh fruit salad for desserts and breakfasts (thanks for the pawpaw and bananas Wendy).
This was a great base for touring in the Cooktown area.

Room tip: The shipping container ( the 2o by 10 ft bedroom) was novel but very comfortable. We can't comment on the safari tent as we didn't want to intrude on the WOOFers who were helping on the farm.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Beautiful place to relax yourself in nature: great view, nice animals and wildlife (Wallaby...).
Ideal for families to share nice time together and discover this beautiful place in Queensland. Wendy manage her farm with permaculture principes and it's very interesting to see.

Enjoy!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews