We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Malanda Lodge Motel(Malanda)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sharlynn B&B(Malanda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
167
39
12
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
39
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housebreakfast hamperspa baththe kitchenatherton tablelandsleaf restaurantboth nightsearly morningwilderness retreatcomplete privacybird watchersrainbow lorikeetslocal wildlifeoutside worldground levelamazing placeget away from it all
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

"Rose" is the epitome of beauty, refinement and domestication while "gums" are the towering symbol of of Australia's rugged untamed nature. Put them together and you encapsulate what this retreat is all about. It provides the ultimate in luxury amid the thick tropical wilderness. From the balcony of the tree house, you hear nothing but birdsong and see nothing but trees and the clouds on the mountain. From the spa bath, you can watch the birds enjoying their breakfast - or dinner. Everything is on hand from the full kitchen, the private laundry, even the dehumidifier. The car is parked at the door of the tree house and there are no stairs.The intimate little restaurant is first class and compliments to the chef. The early morning walks were exhilarating. We also loved the back road drives through rich farming country and visiting the local towns, lakes, waterfalls and the tea plantation. We had a four night stay at Rose Gums and we will never forget it. It is balm for the spirit long after the holiday is over.

Room Tip: All the tree houses are equally secluded and well appointed
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Front Office Manager at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

What a lovely review! Thank you. We here at Rose Gums pride ourselves on providing a haven of peace and tranquillity, away from the everyday hustle and noise! We want people to experience the beauty and majesty of the rainforest and its inhabitants without having to compromise on quality and comfort! It is our pleasure to share our little piece of paradise with travellers looking for a little solitude and serenity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We didn't want to leave Cockatoo, our "treehouse" entirely surrounded by forest. Breakfast basket was bountiful and kitchen had windows on three sides. Not for those who expect room service, day-around restaurant, transportation from airport in Cairns or constant connection to outside world. Thank goodness. We feel like Trish at Rose Gums and Ivor, our amazing multi-layered bird guide, are our new best friends. Both had lots of suggestions for exploring the area...and there is a lot to explore. Experienced lots of birds and the historic rat-kangaroo. Alas, no cassowary.

Room Tip: Book through the resort.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for the review. All treehouses are situated 100 metres from each other to ensure total privacy and guests have their own 'slice' of the rainforest to enjoy, so absolutely no need for curtains. Although there are blinds for those who want the luxury to sleep in! Our cassowary is wild, and very often seen. If he is about we do our best to inform guests. I am pleased you appreciated the significance of the very primitive Musky Rat-Kangaroo, a living fossil!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This is a gorgeous place. It really is a wilderness retreat. Each cabin is embedded in rainforest and you feel like you are the only inhabitant for miles. The panoramic view form the cabin is very atmospheric. It rained for the three days we were there, so we didn't do much exploring of the grounds. The paths were very muddy! We did get acquainted with the bungalows, since we were inside a lot of the time. They were very thoughtfully designed and perfectly maintained. Extensive use of (?native) wood means that the place looks pristine after 20 years of rainforest weather. The place is about 20 minutes drive from Malanda in the Atherton Tablelands. What wonderful area. it is extremely green, and the roads (1.5 or 2 lane blacktop mostly), are mostly empty. The area is reminiscent of the north island of New Zealand or even rural England.This is not a touristy area. In this way it is the opposite of the overdone Kuranda, also in the tablelands.The onsite restaurant serves good food and there are cooking facilities in the cabin. On the downside (or perhaps upside depending on your point of view) there is no mobile reception for Optus or Vodafone, and minimal (with no data) for Telstra. There is very slow internet available in the lobby. We had been told watch for Cassowaries. Saw none until driving out after checkout. There it was just looking at us in our car. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate all feedback, and are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Rose Gums.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We spent 4 nights in this wonderful wilderness retreat. Do not expect iPad and phone connection unless you go to reception. To us it was bliss getting away from the outside world and enjoying our surroundings. Our accommodation was clean, our breakfast basket was more than adequate. The facilities and essentials for cooking were well thought out and plenty of fresh towels. Just be prepared that there were no wardrobes or adequate facilites to hang clothes. We lived out of our suitcases but who cares when you are having a great time. Beware the cassowary can have a go at your car when it sees his reflection. Reception will provide a car cover at no extra expense. We dined at the restaurant which was praised by my family. One had the fish and another the lentil curry. I had prawn linguine which, in my mind was overpriced at $28 and only had 5 over cooked small prawns in a very heavy tomato sauce that definitely was not home made. All in all a very pleasant stay and a very honest review.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank dorgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

We really appreciate all feedback from our guests. The chef will ask all diners how their meal was, and we would like guests not to be shy in responding, so that we can make your dining experience a memorable experience. If we know of any issues at the time we will always try to resolve them immediately. A guest survey form is included in all breakfast hampers for feedback about your experiences in all areas of our operations from the restaurant to reception. We appreciate, read and respond with a plan of action if necessary.
As much as possible we use fresh local produce such as the ingredients in our pasta sauces. This week we have included the divine local sorbets from Emerald Creek Ice Creamery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We stayed four nights in a studio pole house at Rose Gum. All houses are in the forest and beautifully appointed. We are birdwatchers and were delighted with Rose Gums. We saw a cassowary and many forest species of birds. Our studio room was huge with a deck overlooking the forest. The kitchen is fully equipped and comes with a breakfast hamper that lasted 2 day and more. There is a washer and dryer which is helpful for travellers. There is a minimum 2 night stay which is quite understandable. The Retreat is Rose Gum is a small family business and I would highly recommend it. It is close to Yungaburra which is a quaint little town with an excellent restaurant - Flynns.

Room Tip: One studio is in the forest the other has views of mountains
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skyetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for the review. Staying 4 nights certainly gives our guests more time to explore the beautiful attractions in the area, and more opportunity to see our unique wildlife such as platypus, tree kangaroos and the cassowary. The quaint villages in the area offer an authentic Australian country experience, as the area does not attract 'mass' tourism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews