We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous tree house on the tablelands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We loved our tree house, waking up bathed in sunlight listening to the birds. Wonderful terrace and huge fun lighting the fire in the evenings which were a bit cool in July. Very romantic with a spa in the bathroom. Quiet and comfortable with great restaurant.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for the review. All reviews are passed onto our great team at Rose Gums as we all care and take pride in our customer service. The treehouses have been designed to be totally private/romantic in their piece of rainforest and feature spa baths and fireplaces. Rose Gums is situated 720 metres above sea level, hence, despite being in the tropics, we experience a cooler winter than the coast. There is plenty of firewood on offer for those cooler evenings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

My family and I recently stayed in the "Fern Wren" tree house and it was absolutely wonderful. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a treat. John, Peta, Di and Anna went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great stay. The restaurant food was delicious and the breakfast hamper was plentiful. Our kids were thrilled to see Casey the cassowary each morning for breakfast. Highly recommend this for locals and travellers alike!

Room Tip: Very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jnlivinthedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Front Office Manager at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review! Our goal here at Rose Gums is to provide a wonderful experience in pristine surroundings, with native birds and animals to see in their natural habitat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

"Rose" is the epitome of beauty, refinement and domestication while "gums" are the towering symbol of of Australia's rugged untamed nature. Put them together and you encapsulate what this retreat is all about. It provides the ultimate in luxury amid the thick tropical wilderness. From the balcony of the tree house, you hear nothing but birdsong and see nothing but trees and the clouds on the mountain. From the spa bath, you can watch the birds enjoying their breakfast - or dinner. Everything is on hand from the full kitchen, the private laundry, even the dehumidifier. The car is parked at the door of the tree house and there are no stairs.The intimate little restaurant is first class and compliments to the chef. The early morning walks were exhilarating. We also loved the back road drives through rich farming country and visiting the local towns, lakes, waterfalls and the tea plantation. We had a four night stay at Rose Gums and we will never forget it. It is balm for the spirit long after the holiday is over.

Room Tip: All the tree houses are equally secluded and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Front Office Manager at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

What a lovely review! Thank you. We here at Rose Gums pride ourselves on providing a haven of peace and tranquillity, away from the everyday hustle and noise! We want people to experience the beauty and majesty of the rainforest and its inhabitants without having to compromise on quality and comfort! It is our pleasure to share our little piece of paradise with travellers looking for a little solitude and serenity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We didn't want to leave Cockatoo, our "treehouse" entirely surrounded by forest. Breakfast basket was bountiful and kitchen had windows on three sides. Not for those who expect room service, day-around restaurant, transportation from airport in Cairns or constant connection to outside world. Thank goodness. We feel like Trish at Rose Gums and Ivor, our amazing multi-layered bird guide, are our new best friends. Both had lots of suggestions for exploring the area...and there is a lot to explore. Experienced lots of birds and the historic rat-kangaroo. Alas, no cassowary.

Room Tip: Book through the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for the review. All treehouses are situated 100 metres from each other to ensure total privacy and guests have their own 'slice' of the rainforest to enjoy, so absolutely no need for curtains. Although there are blinds for those who want the luxury to sleep in! Our cassowary is wild, and very often seen. If he is about we do our best to inform guests. I am pleased you appreciated the significance of the very primitive Musky Rat-Kangaroo, a living fossil!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This is a gorgeous place. It really is a wilderness retreat. Each cabin is embedded in rainforest and you feel like you are the only inhabitant for miles. The panoramic view form the cabin is very atmospheric. It rained for the three days we were there, so we didn't do much exploring of the grounds. The paths were very muddy! We did get acquainted with the bungalows, since we were inside a lot of the time. They were very thoughtfully designed and perfectly maintained. Extensive use of (?native) wood means that the place looks pristine after 20 years of rainforest weather. The place is about 20 minutes drive from Malanda in the Atherton Tablelands. What wonderful area. it is extremely green, and the roads (1.5 or 2 lane blacktop mostly), are mostly empty. The area is reminiscent of the north island of New Zealand or even rural England.This is not a touristy area. In this way it is the opposite of the overdone Kuranda, also in the tablelands.The onsite restaurant serves good food and there are cooking facilities in the cabin. On the downside (or perhaps upside depending on your point of view) there is no mobile reception for Optus or Vodafone, and minimal (with no data) for Telstra. There is very slow internet available in the lobby. We had been told watch for Cassowaries. Saw none until driving out after checkout. There it was just looking at us in our car. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosegums, Owner at Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate all feedback, and are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Rose Gums.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malanda
9.0 km away
Yungaburra Park Motel
Yungaburra Park Motel
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
36 reviews
7.8 km away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
6.0 km away
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
Mt Quincan Crater Retreat
#2 of 6 in Yungaburra
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Kookaburra Lodge
Kookaburra Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
156 reviews
9.1 km away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#3 of 4 in Yungaburra
133 reviews
1.3 km away
Malanda Lodge Motel
Malanda Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Malanda
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat

Address: 324 Land Road | via Lake Eacham, Malanda, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Malanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Malanda
Price Range: RM1,024 - RM1,382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a secluded rainforest retreat in the cool highlands above Cairns, all our treehouses are self-contained featuring spa baths, fireplaces and magnificent views. The 93 HA property has 9 kilometres of walking tracks and over 160 species of birds and other wildlife, including Platypus that inhabit our pristine rainforest creeks. Delight in our own in-house restaurant, LEAF, a private dining experience in the tree-tops. Your hosts Peta & Jon are very friendly and helpful and are looking forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose Gums Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing