We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Time out of the rat race”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of African Cottage

African Cottage Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah African Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah
African Cottage Kitchen
African Cottage BBQ Area
African Cottage Bedroom 1
African Cottage Bedroom 2
African Cottage Bedroom 3
Spacious African themed cottage surrounded by lush tropical gardens. To relax body and soul!
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Tiger The Resident Cat
Resident Guinea Fowl
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Matilda Scarfe Your Host
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley W
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Time out of the rat race”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed in the Cape Cottage which is perfect for a couple. The weather enabled us to to try out the heater which was unusual and provided a lovely subtle and gentle warmth. At another time we took advantage of a lovely breeze on the verandah looking into the branches of a wonderful fig tree. We were very comfortable and felt at home. We ordered food from the menu for each night. It may not be to everyone's taste (I loved it) . Mathilda is a delightful host but not intrusive. Having a massage in your own room is an added bonus. Would I stay again? Yes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: Because of a fixed screen you have to get into the bath to turn on the shower. A little awkward but able to be managed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2014
Thanks Lesley! Our guests are VERY important to us. And we love our cottages. You are the cherry on top of the cake! Out of the last ten reviews, there was only ONE negative one. We must be doing something right! We look forward to you coming back - and trying some more of our delicious food!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeannieDV...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I can't say enough what a beautiful spot of Africa this place is.....decor is beautiful, food is dee-li-cious!!! Host is very pleasant, setting is spectacular!!! It rained most of the time we were there, but it was such a pleasant place to be it didn't matter, we put some wood in the wood stove and enjoyed the coziness of the cabin! I felt guilty being there for such an inexpensive price!!! Would I recommend it again? without a hesitation! We will be back Matilda!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: atmosphere! And food
Liked least: There was absolutely nothing, other than we had to leave after our two day stay!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2014
Thanks Jeannie! But with guests like you we can't help but be nice! Waiting for you to come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian F
Kingaroy, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We asked that the cottage be re-cleaned because the mirror had "Clean me" written in the dust, we found a huge hair plug in the bath, I went to grill some muffins with cheese on and removed my hand covered in grease. The grill was in the oven, and the oven shelves were disgusting. I ate the muffin, which I toasted in the toaster, with uncooked cheese on!
After the cottage had supposedly being cleaned again, we found a spider my sister had killed was still on the floor, and we still could not see through the oven door glass. We had specifically mentioned the state of the stove.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Good location, and really well thought out decor. Could have been terrific if cleaned properly
Liked least: The state of the oven, and the WiFi did not work, there was no reception
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
You can imagine my horror when you girls complained about the state of the cottage! If you read our other reviews, they are all glowing reports of how lovely our cottages are. As you know, I immediately called the cleaner in (on her day off) to come and rectify the situation. What you don't know is that she told me she knew it was dirty - but she couldn't be bothered cleaning it! She obviously does not work there any more! You should see the cottage now that Suzie has cleaned it - spotless! We would love you to come back for a FREE night.and I hope nobody employs a woman called Donna as a cleaner!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay1826
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Superb getaway hidden in Melany”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Experienced an amazing weekend getaway at Maleny African Cottages. The cottage was secluded beneath an awesome 500 year old tree spanning the balcony! The accommodation was spacious, clean, very comfortable and beautifully decorated in a South African theme - music and all. Our package included a fabulous traditional South African dish - Bobotti - which was so good we bought extra pre-packaged ingredients to take home. Thank you Matilda for a weekend to remember - we will be back!! Kay and Rob

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tree, food and hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Four of us stayed from 28 - 31 January 2014 in the Rondawel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is great - a few minutes drive into Maleny and not much further to Montville. The cottage is roomy and the beds are very comfortable and the bath is huge. Matilda is a great hostess and has thought of everything to make your visit enjoyable. Beautiful food and we all agreed a return visit is a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing