We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting tapas menu”

Machu Picchu South American Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 226 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Machu Picchu Bar and Restaurant will take you on a journey from Australia's Sunshine Coast to the vibrant heart of South America. ​ Follow the salsa rhythms to the fiesta on Ocean Street in Maroochydore and step inside to experience the sights, sounds and flavours of the most colourful continent on earth. South Americans don't just eat to sustain themselves, they eat to celebrate, to honour and to connect with family and friends. Our menu invites you to share the finest cuisine from all over the continent - from elegant Peruvian ceviche to hearty Brasilian asado. We're confident our extensive range of Latin beers, high-altitude rums and signature cocktails are the best you'll find ouside of South America.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Perfect place for a light meal after the movies. The three of us ordered drinks and then shared several plates of tapas. We especially enjoyed the beautifully spiced lamb chops (3 to a plate) with sliced potatoes in a light sauce, and the beef empanadas were delicious. Service was friendly and unobtrusive. Would definitely consider coming back to try the very reasonably priced lunch special ($15 includes a drink).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NYandAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit to Machu.
Hope to see you for the new $15 lunch menu including Sangria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Wether you are a local or visitor this is a great place to visit. We went on a Tuesday night and sat out the front. We had a great view of the Salsa dancing inside and the vibe was excellent. The food is to die for. We ordered the black bean ribs (omg), chicken wings and the South American pastry local food. Everything was superb. The ribs would be my 'must order next time dish'. The food was hot and fresh and full of flavour.
For drinks I had the chilli pale ale (it's very spicy) and my wife had a sangria (also very nice).
Pricing was reasonable and staff were superb.

1  Thank Teedubyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thanks so much for your review.
We're so pleased you had a great time at Machu.
We sell a lot of the 5 hour ribs...people love the fact they just fall off the bone.
And the team will be over-the-moon to be called 'superb'....
Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Great food tapas style. Wait staff helpful in selecting dishes. Atmosphere good in spite of people walking through with Woolies trolleys, etc. That's Ocean Street. Wine a little expensive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank _thewinstanleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thanks for the review. Pleased you enjoyed your visit and thought the good was great.
Appreciate the feedback on wine....we like to think our wine range is excellent value being from $8 a glass.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

$12.50 lunch specials or $15 with a drink. Good value for money! Plenty of seating, easy lunch with family and friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank uroppelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thanks so much. We're pleased you enjoyed the $15 including Sangria or soft drink lunch menu.....it's becoming very popular.
Look forward to seeing you again soon at Machu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We were 4 adults on a Thursday walking along Ocean Street and were intrigued by the Lunch Special with a glass of Sangria for $15. We were assigned a seat and given menus in a timely manner. After getting a drink we ordered our lunch. It was only then that we were told that our selections were not available. Why not explain this before asking for our orders?

The place was not busy. The hamburger and bean wrap were VG but the chicken skewers were very lonely laying on a few bits of lettuce. A couple of corn chips would have been appreciated.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shasza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Machu Picchu South American Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Machu Picchu South American Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing