We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Ocean Ended

Ocean Ended
Ranked #2 of 218 Restaurants in Maroochydore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Description: Set on the ever-changing waters at the mouth of the Maroochy River - where the ocean ends - Ocean Ended provides guests with a friendly, relaxed and elegant dining experience featuring the winning trifecta of stunning views, outstanding coastal cuisine and memorable service. We look forward to welcoming you for a long leisurely lunch, a shorter lunch for those with work beckoning, or for dinner with friends, family or loved ones... which should never be rushed!
Restaurant details
Description: Set on the ever-changing waters at the mouth of the Maroochy River - where the ocean ends - Ocean Ended provides guests with a friendly, relaxed and elegant dining experience featuring the winning trifecta of stunning views, outstanding coastal cuisine and memorable service. We look forward to welcoming you for a long leisurely lunch, a shorter lunch for those with work beckoning, or for dinner with friends, family or loved ones... which should never be rushed!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to ocean ended with friends who live in Maroochydore thought we were walking into a casual cafe walked out knowing we had been at a 5 star restaurant. WOW as soon as the waiter (who I'm pretty sure was an owner) came to greet us the food journey started the 4 of us shared fabulous food can't wait to go back . Congratulations to the owners on creating a place where you feel so at home

Thank lynna622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa R, Owner at Ocean Ended, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're glad you and your friends had a very pleasant surprise when you discovered Ocean Ended! Yes, it would have been Paul, the co-owner and host, who greeted you. His warm welcomes are legendary! We say that guests at Ocean Ended experience the winning trifecta of Stunning views, outstanding coastal cuisine and memorable service.

Thanks for taking the time to review Ocean Ended - and for the 5-star review. We look forward to welcoming back you and many of your friends again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Went Saturday night and was very busy. Can get noisy, but the view and the delicious dishes make up for that. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nice first 3xperience.

Thank Rhonda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa R, Owner at Ocean Ended, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thanks for your review. Yes, Saturday nights are getting very busy as we approach Christmas, but I'm glad you thought we remained friendly and helpful throughout.

Hope to see you again soon. Come for lunch or another evening to get a different experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Great food, terrific service and a fabulous location. We went for early dinner and had an amazing seaview in the sunshine, followed by the moon rising over the ocean as darkness fell. The staff really know their stuff, professional but also relaxed. So refreshing after young staff with poor training in a lot of places. This restaurant is tucked away, look for the signs near BOQ. By the way, we loved the decor, especially the comfortable chairs! (Cannot stand stools and there are none here, yay.) Look forward to returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aussies_living_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa R, Owner at Ocean Ended, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thanks for your great review. We were very clever to position the restaurant perfectly for the full moon rising out of the Pacific Ocean, weren't we? ;-) It's a wonderful sight every month.
We pride ourselves on our professional but relaxed service and are pleased you were delighted by it.
Glad you also liked our chairs. We sat in a lot before we chose them!
Hope to see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Food was absolutely fantastic and a view to die for. The service was slow however the staff were lovely.

Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa R, Owner at Ocean Ended, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi Elise. Thanks for the great review of our food and view. We also pride ourselves on our service so are disappointed we didn't meet your expectations, or ours.

Sometimes we get an unexpected number of guests who just turn up without booking in advance, which might mean we haven't brought in all the casual staff we need on a particular shift. Or everyone turns up at the same time, which impacts the kitchen flow. Either might have been why the service was slow during your meal. I am pleased that the staff were lovely, though!

If you'd like to expand on the issue in any way, please call Paul on 07 5443 3410 or send us an email with your number and he'll call you back.

Regards,

Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Perfectly cooked seafood, beautiful wines, a gentle sea breeze and a great outlook make this a must visit venue.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmandaTom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa R, Owner at Ocean Ended, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review Ocean Ended. Will pass your 'perfectly cooked seafood' comment on to our chef and his team. The sea breeze and great outlook make it a great place to work, too :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Ended also viewed

Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
 
Maroochydore, Sunshine Coast
Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast
 
Alexandra Headland, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Ocean Ended? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing