We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
441
200
51
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
200
51
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens art museum university circle old mansion campus of case western reserve severance hall mansion suite sun room within walking distance boutique hotel cleveland institute of music first floor included breakfast cleveland clinic yogurt nice breakfast breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

In the heart of the arts district and Case this is a place with great drinks, service and charm. The historical nature of this boutique hotel is worth every penny. Charm is central and the service compliments.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithG335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Keith G,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Wasn't sure what to expect, but the House exceeded our expectations. Loved our room, location, and atmosphere. Only staff that went out of their way to make us feel welcome were the Bartender William and the Event Coordinator Louise Story, They made our stay memorable and would go back because of them!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TomlinsonFamily2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear TomlinsonFamily2017,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return to the Glidden House on your next visit to Cleveland!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Small, intimate, extremely quiet, friendly hotel with museum quality art work and the former residence of the Glidden paint family. The locations is steps from the museum of art, the botanical garden, Little Italy and is on the campus of Case Western Reserve University. Our room was small but comfortable (in the modern extension). The only problem was the sameness of the breakfast over four days and the rubbery poached eggs. However, there was an espresso machine, which is unusual in an American hotel. All-in-all we would go back should we visit Cleveland in the future

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank a7263333035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear a7263333035,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were able to explore the University Circle area during your stay. We are currently upgrading our complimentary breakfast. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. We hope to see you on your next visit to Cleveland!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Had 2 nights here on business and again loved it here. Most US hotels I stay in are same hotel, different location but this one is special and different. It has a traditional feel to it and the rooms are clean and have everything you need.

Reception was great, helping me with a body in Cleveland but luggage in Amsterdam scenario by giving me some toiletries and generally offering support to get it returned to me. Water is hot in a bath and wifi generally works well all over the hotel and in restaurant but does seem to get overloaded in the evenings so can go down to 1 Mbps. Location is great for the University and any other business over the East side. Plenty of parking too.

Only criticism is the cooked breakfast which is a bit basic with only poached eggs that were hard and poor sausages but I forgive them for the pleasure of staying here.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty similar
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikesalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Mikesalter,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you returned to the Glidden House for another stay. We appreciate your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

I can't say enough about this hotel, from a great bartender on Saturday night who despite a large wedding party took great care of us and made us feel important. To the front of house staff member Louise who ran things meticulously and with great attention to detail even having staff sing happy birthday with cake for my husband. What was supposed to be a consolation stay due to our cruise being cancelled turned into a weekend of pampering and big belly laughs. Thank you for making us feel so at home!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank audsleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glidden1, Front Office Manager at Glidden House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear audsleyr,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that we were able to salvage your cancelled trip and make your husband's birthday special. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Laura Brdar
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews