We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top-notch lodge for family reunion”
Arial #1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arial #1
Arial #2 Arial #3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Arial #1
Arial #2
Arial #3
Backview #2
Swiming raft
Clear swimming Waters
Foyier
Main hallway
Great Room
Game Room *** THIS IS ONLY HALF OF THE GAME ROOM***
Executive Poker Table
Pop a shot
Master Bedroom with King Barn Bed *** ALL BEDS ARE CRAFTED BY A LOCAL AMISH CARPENTER!***
Bedroom #2 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #3 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed with vaulted ceilings)
Bedroom #4 (Queen bed)
Bedroom #5 (Queen Bed with a Twin over a Full Bunk Bed)
Real Stone Floor to Ceiling Fireplace
ALL FULL BATHROOMS HAVE DOUBLE VANITIES!
Loft
Laundry Room
Commercial like kitchen appliances
Bird watching
one of many local stands
Local Amish produce stand
Farm fresh produce!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Cleveland, Ohio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kendra M
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Top-notch lodge for family reunion”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We celebrated a family milestone over the Easter weekend at the lodge. It was PERFECT! The kids had a great time playing all the fun games on the first floor (pool, basketball game, etc), and we all enjoyed the hot-tub and fireplace! The place was immaculately clean, with great beds in all combinations (bunks, singles, doubles, king), and a clean kitchen outfitted with all the appliances we could have wished for. We walked in the woods, played on the play equipment by the pond, and had a meal in the sun on the deck. The living room is elegant and the dining area spacious but cozy. Great time, great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Spectacular House!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My wife and I, along with three other couples, rented the Golden Bear Lodge for a long weekend away from everything. The owners were very helpful, friendly and accessible throughout the process. I was even able to meet one of them at the house for a tour before we confirmed our booking and fell in love with the Lodge at first sight. Once I got inside, I didn't want to leave! The bedrooms, living areas, kitchen, and bathrooms were all clean and well maintained. The hot tub was superb and fit all eight of us comfortably. Despite the freezing temperatures outside, we were warm inside by the fire place. The basement game room was also a highlight, with several video games, a pinball machine, a great pool table, a poker table, and a pop-a-shot basketball game. The Golden Bear Lodge has even more amenities during warmer months, which we hope to be able to enjoy sometime soon. It was truly a beautiful house and we had absolutely no complaints about anything. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was fabulous!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry X
New Albany, Ohio
1 review
“Winter holiday season experience”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great experience! We have 5 families and stayed in the lodge for 2 nights. The 2 story fireplace is awesome and all rooms are clean and neat. The lodge has many indoor entertainment options to keep 10 kids (6-14 yrs old) occupied. Ski resort is only 30-min. away. Kids were excited to see horses and buggies on the road. We spend most of the time indoor since it is winter but can image more outdoor activities in early Summer or fall with camp fire, BBQ and mini golf. Look forward to a return stay in summer 2015!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary V
Galena, United States
2 reviews
“THE PERFECT GETAWAY...5 STARS ARE NOT ENOUGH!”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Simply put this place was amazing. High end amenities, carefully thought out floor plan. From the minute we arrived we were never disappointed. Super clean! High end games in game room. Communication with the owners was warm and thoughtful. Our family can't say enough about this PERFECT get away!! You will NOT be disappointed ~ Sue V

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Quiet atmosphere and super cleanliness of the entire lodge.
Liked least: That we had to leave :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmcohen58
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We rented Golden Bear Lodge which is a very large log cabin for Thanksgiving with extended family and it was everything we expected and more. There were 16 of us and we never felt like we were on top of each other. All of us are gourmet cooks (not by profession) and found that the kitchen and its equipment met our our needs. The great room where the fire place is and the views through the windows were spectacular. The hot tub outside was on the deck and easy to access. We did have a minor issue with the water over flowing the tub hence we had to add water.

The added bonus was the video games in the basement - totally addicting!!

Granted the place is somewhat remote as it is near West Salem Ohio which is Amish country, we still found things to do nearby. This included hiking, checking out several Amish craft places nearby and outlet mall shopping.

Jesse - the owner was easy to work with and kept checking in with us by phone and answering my questions before and after we arrived.

Bottomline great place for extended families with older kids, college age kids, and/or a group of friends getting together to chill and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing