We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of The Blackwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blackwell
Ranked #4 of 145 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed one night on 01/23/12 at the Blackwell. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The room had all the amenities and had a comfortable bed. The work desk area in the room is very spacious and the Internet access was excellent.The staff at the hotel were polite and took great care of all my requests.
Breakfast at the Bistro Restaurant downstairs was good and priced moderately. The Blackwell is centrally located on the OSU campus and is a perfect spot to stay in. I recommend the Blackwell for any visits to Columbus,OH

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheodorRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 587 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

My son and I visited the OSU on January 20. We chose The Blackwell because is physically located ON the campus (North Campus). The entire campus is within relatively easy walking distance.

I was impressed, and highly recommend this for anyone visiting OSU. The hotel is equal (in some ways better) than any Hilton business hotel. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. My son and I had two queen-sized beds, and our room had two desk areas. The desks had plenty of electrical outlets, plus a direct cat-5 internet connection. However, the wireless relies on the OSU system and it is AWESOME. Your hotel-provided guest access provides you with access anywhere on the campus.

As to the other points of the hotel, the bathrooms are the "normal" size, but include nice amenities, including a real hairdryer and high-end soaps, etc. The in-room coffee maker was a nice Keurig-like system, and included hot cocoa and teas.

The hotel has a nice gift shop, which is open 24 hours. Lots of snacks, drinks and toiletries.

We only ate one meal at the hotel-affiliated restaurant, Bistro. The breakfest buffet is nice, and priced similarly to other hotel restaurants.

I really liked the hotel, which was a great value. Don't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank treyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We enjoyed a Buckeye basketball game and enjoyed spending time with our Ohio State student since this hotel is on Ohio State's campus.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everyonehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I like this hotel. It is a bit on the pricey side, but if you can secure a deal through one of those websites, I would recommend taking advantage of it. It's right on campus, so if you want to see that part of Columbus, its perfect. As a lone female traveller, I felt safe staying here and exploring the surrounding area (High St is within walking distance and offers some distraction.) The staff includes some OSU students which makes out for a unique experience. Easy to get to, big clean rooms (nothing special, just standard (but quality) hotel room with updated tv and k-cup coffee maker.) Parking is extra, you either pay for valet ( I think its $15 for the night) or you park your car yourself in the garage next door. I chose valet, because then you can take your car in and out without extra fees. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, ask to face the river/bridge/downtown. Not sure what the room #...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esztechm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The Blackwell grand ballroom was used to host our daughter's New Year's Eve 2010 wedding reception. It was splendid venue for this event and offered both convenience for our guests and a unique setting for out-of-town guests --situated in the heart of the Ohio State University campus. If you want a college campus experience but with high quality amenities, this hotel will provide. It was a fun wedding reception and we got many high compliments from our guests. The caterinig service was top notch and provided a wide array of choices. The food was excellent. The service of the wedding coordinator provided expert and high quality assistance to make our daughter's wedding reception perfect. I could not have pulled this off without this attentive and expert assistance. The staff and service were excellent. This review comes with our strongest recommendation.

Room Tip: There are several rooms to choose from. Higher floors have nice views of the campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
3.9 km away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#6 of 145 in Columbus
1,759 reviews
3.5 km away
Le Meridien Columbus, The Joseph
16.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus/OSU
3.4 km away
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
#10 of 145 in Columbus
599 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackwell

Address: 2110 Tuttle Park Pl, Columbus, OH 43210-1137
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
#1 Business Hotel in Columbus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
Price Range: RM516 - RM934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blackwell 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Blackwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blackwell Hotel Columbus
Blackwell Hotel Columbus
The Blackwell Columbus, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing