We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kestrel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Happisburgh, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda U
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing, home from home”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I love coming to Boundary Stables, I can bring my dog and we always have a relaxing time in extremely pleasant surroundings. The owners are very helpful and accommodating and always leave a generous welcome pack.
My husband is wheelchair bound and he manages very well here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thank you Linda,
We always do our very best to accommodate the disabled and having level access everywhere makes it so much easier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave U
Bury St Edmunds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a great place - highly recommended for those with dogs”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Kestrel for a three night break and to be honest, I wish that we'd booked for longer. The cottage was clean, tidy and in excellent decorative state. Everything that we needed was supplied. On arrival we were greeted with a lovely welcome basket of flowers, eggs, shortbread, marmalade and beer - Julian and Liz have got it spot on.

The location of the cottage was perfect, only being a short drive from Happisburgh beach. In fact it is easily within walking distance. There is a lovely walk from Happisburgh, along the beach to Carp Gap, where you can refresh yourselves at the Smallsticks Barn café, before walking back.

There are a number of good pubs/restaurants in the area, but I'd recommend eating at the Star Inn located just a short drive away in Lessingham. They serve great food and have excellent staff - Dogs are also welcome in the Pub too. The Lighthouse Inn on Coast Rd also comes recommended to those with children.

Would I stay at Boundary Stables again - Absolutely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you Dave,
You were brilliant guests and are always welcome at Boundary Stables.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDIE88
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag. Would recommend if you have pets”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stay here. Owner lovely and nice welcome box of goodies. Kitchen area clean, microwave ckean and fridge. Lovely cottage in quiet location. The bit that lets this place down is the cleaness of the living and bathroom. The wet room was a bit grotty and toilet seat a little grotty. Due to the fact they allow dogs, it does have a doggy smell and dog hair on sofas and floor length curtains and on the floor. Not a massive problem but we had a small crawling child so he was covered.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy the...
Glossop Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break.”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Kestrel is one of a small group of timber-clad cottages situated in a very rural peaceful spot just outside the village of Happisburgh. The cottage is very comfortable and spacious and is extremely well equipped. The beach, which is perfect for dog walking is a 5 minute drive away. The Broads are not much further. And the whole of the Norfolk coast is within easy reach. Dogs are made very welcome. Absolutely ideal for a relaxing break. Highly recommended for everyone, particularly dog lovers and the disabled.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Equipment in cottage
Liked least: Wet room (slippy floor)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bank-holi...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you could possibly need”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Spacious, light and bright accomodation; clearly had been recently decorated and was very clean.
When temperature dropped in the evenings the cottage warmed quickly with the central heating.
Kitchen was well equipped with every piece of equipment you could wish for.
Quiet environment which we appreciated even though all the properties were occupied.
Happisburgh was perfectly positioned to explore North Norfolk and the Broads and we discovered a few places we had not visited before, nearby beaches really perfect for dog walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Environment
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$79
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing