We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining experience”
Review of Morston Hall

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morston Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent our 40th wedding anniversary having dinner, bed and breakfast, and felt utterly pampered. The dinner was superb, the accommodation was first class and the service was faultless. I would recommend this to anyone who wanted to enjoy a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatildaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    54
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
57
319
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Special day Sandra 70. Arrived mid afternoon bracing walk on marshes lots of geese in sky.
Came back. Log fire bottle of reasonably priced sparkling. Dinner out of this world. Galton charming (tracey on the case & charming too). Breakfast as you might expect v v good. BTW excellent bin end bottle of red top value.Staff to a person impeccable friendly but not obsequeios. We'll go back no doubt. This place was perfect not a thing to question let alone moan about!

Room Tip: Blickling great for us. try out the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have visited Morston Hall on numerous special occasions and it always impresses. The highlight of any stay/visit is the exceptional food, attentive but not annoying service and the lovely setting.

I have always chosen Morston Hall as the spot for my special occasions - 21st Birthday, Graduation from medical school and when I proposed to my Fiance; we stayed at Morston Hall for 3 nights - the superb breakfast and exceptional dinners were included in the price, making the room relatively cheap all things considered.

It is expensive but well worth the money. The restaurant also allows you to bring your own wine and they charge a reasonable corkage fee of around £20.

If I were staying again, I would stay in the rooms outside the main house.

Room Tip: Rooms in the house aren't particularly special but the main room in the house is very nice, spli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj_akademix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here back in July for just a couple of nights. On arrival we were given the choice of three rooms in the main building, all of which were wonderful. We choose one on the second floor with views to the side and across to the marsh. It had a seperate sitting room too. Everything was luxurious and well maintained.
The food, which was probably the main reason we choose to stay here, was amazing, and definately up the Michelin star standard. The head chef Galton Blackiston came round the restaurant on one evening and was charming.
The staff were professional but not at all stuffy.
The location is fantastic, just a few 100 meters from the marsh, and in such a beautiful area.
It is not cheap - but worth it for a treat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musntgrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This was the third time we had visited Morston Hall around the festive period, and on the two previous occasions we had come away having been impressed by the quality of service, excellent food and the attention to detail which had made our stays so enjoyable. Alas, not this time. Service had lost it’s spark, the food on the first night was quiet ordinary and the following mornings breakfast was a disaster, the feeling being that we had been forgotten. Galton Blackiston (conspicuously absent on night 1) saved the day on night 2 with a great dinner but by then the damage was done. With the weekend costing more than most people spend on a family summer holiday I expected far more and will be hesitant to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lincolnzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morston
35.9 km away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
9.2 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
36.2 km away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
17.6 km away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
30.4 km away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morston Hall

Property: Morston Hall
Address: The Street, Morston NR25 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Morston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morston
Hotel Class:4 star — Morston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Morston Hall Hotel Morston
Hall Hotel Morston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing