We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year stay”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We were delighted to find a booking for the first time for the New Years Eve celebrations at The Swan. We love Southwold and and my wish was achieved. We had a two night stay and we found our room comfortable with only the ensuite in need of an update. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all our food choices especially New Years Eve dinner with entertainment. Our bonus was a reserved parking space with a plug to charge our electric car. We have seen the plans for the refurbishment and hope it won't lose its old charm. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joanne602015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time for a lovely review, and we are so pleased you had a great time with us at New Years! We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 601 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1414
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

The Swan is a family favorite for us. Whether we stay in the cottages out back or in the main hotel, we are never disappointed. The Adnams staff are attentive and on hand, they seem to take a higher level of pride in the hotelier profession.

The comfortable rooms are homely and befitting of a five star rating, the only pause for the four star is due to the old place needing some TLC around the edges and the car park really is a squeeze, although whilst may seem to be a criticism also that is part of the charm. The hotel is due a refurb in 2017, we hope that the hotel retains its character whilst achieving some subtle tidying around the edges. The world has seen enough hotels move on to a different more updated look, it would be a shame if this happened too much to the swan at southwold.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This is the 6th time we've stayed at The Swan, but our first three day Christmas break. We had room 9, which spacious, well appointed, with a very comfortable bed.

As always, the staff were superb and treated us almost as family. I don't know any other hotel where members of staff give you a hug when you leave!

An excellent gift awaited us on Christmas morning, after breakfast - an Adnam's (the brewers and owners of the hotel) shopping bag of their goodies, including gin, chocolates and toiletries. Just our sort of gift!

The food was superb, with Christmas lunch being a particular highlight - the turkey and trimmings were better than home made. We had one little delay, which was very professionally and generously dealt with.

The atmosphere was relaxed country house, with the added bonus of being at the seaside. We've been away at Christmas for each of the last 25 years and rate the Swan
as one of the very best and great value for money, including excellent and reasonably priced Adnam's wine.

Sadly The Swan is now closed until June 2017, but we've booked a two night stay on the
first day they re-open. I suspect we will also be drawn back for next Christmas.

As for Rosie, she was the small terrier we saw on the beach on Christmas morning (where hundreds of otherwise sane people rush into the sea, dressed as elves, vikings, reindeer) whose owner had fitted a wollen saddle together with a jockey father christmas on top. Could that dog run! It just seemed encapsulate the fun of Christmas in Southwold.

Room Tip: Always go for at least a superior room and be aware there are stairs to climb, although there is a l...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamaphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you so much for a lovely review and are so pleased you had a wonderful Christmas with us. We do hope you will pop in after our refurbishment due to finish in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel never fails to disappoint. Have stayed at this charming hotel in Southwold on several occasions and this is the 2nd New Year evening celebration event attended. The rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all the necessary bits and pieces. Nice touch with the Adnams bottled water. The staff are very friendly and so so helpful. The set New Year dinner was excellent and so was the live band, The Austin Beats. Evening started with bubbly and canapés in the lounge before moving through to the dinning room for the meal and entertainment. Venue was full. Martin, Jenny and all the staff thank you for such a great evening. Hotel is closing shortly for a major refurbishment. Hope you keep the standards up and can't wait to see the 'new' hotel when all the works are done. Good luck and best wishes for 2017

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JPE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for a lovely review, we do hope you will pop in after our refurbishment due to finish in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

My mum and I popping into the Swan for a quick lunch which all in all was pretty good. It was when we came to pay the bill that it all went a bit wrong.

Firstly our bill had several drinks in it that we didn't have, they were eventually taken off but no apology was given, it was customers "who can't be bothered to tell me their table number" fault, then we were subjected to "I can't afford to live here because of bloody tourists from London & Cambridge buying all the houses"and "we should be quiet today, people should be at home sleep off their hangovers, so I've not stopped all day"

Lunch wasn't expensive, but what we are spending is paying your wages, sorry but I don't give a stuff if you have had a bad day!!

Such a shame that one member of staff can ruin an experience of what should have been a nice quick lunch.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank Spencer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.5 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
337 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
402 reviews
0.6 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,034 reviews
19.6 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
669 reviews
9.8 km away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: RM1,457 - RM1,486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan is currently preening its feathers and we look forward to its reopening in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing