We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely House, Lovely Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burchley House

Tucked away at the top of the high street located on North Green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tucked away at the top of the high street located on North Green
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Tucked away at the top of the high street located on North Green
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gotchy13
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely House, Lovely Location”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Arrived on the Friday for the bank holiday weekend in May and couldn't believe how nice the house and the location was. It was so easy to stroll to the beach, Adnams brewery, shops and pubs/restaurants for all of us including 2 pushchairs. The house provided plenty of space for all 15 of us (and 5 cars!) and the facilities available were perfect with plenty of cutlery and crockery which allowed us not to have to be constantly washing up - although a few pint glasses would have been nice. Decor throughout was good and clean. We would love to stay here again, especially with Southwold being such a nice place - the weather for us was good so we weren't trapped in the house, if we had been the children might have gotten a bit bored - but I think that would be the same staying in any house. Perhaps some sort of music player in the kitchen/dining area would have been good - can't think of anything that could have improved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house as a whole
Liked least: Some minor niggles but nothing that ruined the break
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“second stay as wonderful as first!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Back for second stay - house as great as I remembered it. Perfect house for large family as plenty of space but also so stylish and comfortable and extremely well managed - all the family said it was the best holiday house they have stayed in. Southwold itself is also perfect place for all ages in an extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillwing
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best house in Southwold”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

After researching many properties , we were lucky to find this luxurious modern home full of all mod cons and finished to a beautiful high standard, We were a family group of 15 celebrating a special 3oth birthday. We could not fault anything what so ever. The welcoming gifts that had been arranged for us set the scene for the weekend. Everyone without exception enjoyed every part of the property and all it's amenities. It is so well furnished and we left not wanting for anything we could need even including some reading glasses next to the cookery books ! Its an absolute credit to the owners who have made it as a wonderful home for others to enjoy. The town and beach is only 10 minute walk and easy to find plenty to do and see here. . Each room was individually designed and a great deal of thought had gone into all the little touches.We realised we had accidently tidied up and put away in the games cupboard some card games we had brought with us. I sent an email to ask if they wouldn't mind posting back to us and within 2 days they had very kindly sent them to us which was really generous- thank you We would highly recommend this to anyone and we would certainly love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxuary quality house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardbea...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Just returned from a week with ten family members. We'll equipped & very spacious premises. Let down on trivia really, no extra toilet roll in en suite , just a half roll probably left by previous occupants? Door of "Lighthouse " room stuck if shut firmly.
Beautiful flowers , on arrival, but no chocolates & wine as stated by other guests!!
Brilliant Living Space for Large Family " get togethers "

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious Living Areas
Liked least: Lack of toilet rolls
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoJaques1...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect palatial party pad”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We came here as a group of 10 adults to celebrate my 40th birthday. Leaving the children with their grandparents and allowing us to take full advantage of the house and activities on offer in Southwold. We were not disappointed with any aspect of the house. Each one of us wishing it was ours and more than one of us coming away with our own list of home improvements. It is the perfect property to celebrate with others in with the large kitchen/diner/family room meaning that there was room to move but be altogether. For quiet moments to large lounge was cosy and comfortable. We want to come back very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and luxury
Liked least: Leaving and the lack of champagne glasses
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing