We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasure to Stay Here”
other travellers have booked this property
Walking along the seashore to the harbour.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Walking along the seashore to the harbour.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Walking along the seashore to the harbour.
View from the living room into the small front garden.
double bedroom with view of the chestnut tree over the road.
double bedroom with large duvet and ample storage
ample storage in the back bedroom with large built in wardrobe and shelving
Our hut is near Southwold lighthouse.
Holiday makers on Southwold beach near Susi's cafe, about 150yds from our hut.
Enjoying a family breakfast at the beach hut on a sunny morning .
Looking towards Southwold pier from the beach
Build memories to last a lifetime.
Having fun near our hut.
Southwold sea shore.
Wonderful poppies llooking towards Southwold pier last summer.
We love to buy fresh fish from the huts at the harbour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annahN304...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasure to Stay Here”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Chestnutt Cottage is delightful and excellent value for money. It is a only short walk from Southwold High Street and the Black Shore where you can buy fresh fish and can get the ferry to Walberswick. Also excellently located for touring round the area. We went to Bentwater Open Day, Lowerstoft and Sizewell B as well as many places along the coast. The kitchen is unusually well equipped for a holiday home, great for us as cooking is a pastime we enjoy, especially as wild mushrooms were plentiful on the walk into town. It's spotlessly clean, light and airy, hung with lots of original and interesting pictures, paintings and drawings, with books, games, DVDs and CDs for wet days. The conservatory is a real bonus. We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Dear Anna and Tom,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review of your stay in Chestnutt cottage. It was a real pleasure to meet you both. We could see at once that you were both going to enjoy your holiday and it certainly sounds as though you made the most of every moment.
.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhmross
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely stay in a great place”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Chestnut Cottage is extremely comfortable and very well kitted out (minus wifi, but good for the kids to be disconnected for a bit). The location is great. Close enough to the centre to be useful, but far enough away not to get clogged by the busy town. The beach hut was lovely, a real novelty and useful just to pop down and have fish and chips on the beach in the evening.

Judith and Chris were very welcoming and gave us useful tips on the local area. Thanks for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
It was a real pleasure to meet you all and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Chestnutt Cottage and , like us, loved the hut.
We had previously thought that a 'wifi free' holiday space was a good idea, but now find that, even we miss it, when staying in Southwold and are arranging for wifi to be connected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndytheBi...
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A well-placed cottage for coast and country”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage is about a mile inland, so avoids the hustle and bustle of Southwold, and it is easier to access the countryside around the area. It has its own parking area and has everything you need, except wi-fi - and even that is available (free) from the library on the way into town. It was nice not to be able to look at the screen every five minutes ...

The cottage is comfortable rather than luxurious, and the price reflects this. There is plenty of room to spread yourself around (including, for us, the important garage for locking bicycles away in).

We visited the RSPB reserve at Minsmere, Dunwich, Bungay and the Hen Reed Beds reserve (three miles away) and decided, on the way home, that next time we book it'll be for a fortnight.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your holiday experiences. We are very pleased that Chestnutt Cottage met your expectations and that you enjoyed exploring the surrounding area - mostly it seems by bicycle! ( Like you, our other 'cyclists visitors' very much appreciate the safe, locked garage facility .)
Suffolk has so much to offer and we look forward to meeting you next year for your longer stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katherine...
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage, all you could ask for plus the bonus of a fabulous beach hut”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our first visit to Southwold and the surrounding area and we really enjoyed our holiday there.
The cottage was simply decorated with lots of lovely artwork and personal possessions. The cottage was equipped with all mod cons, including a new dishwasher which was great.
We spent most of our time on the beach using the fabulous beach hut as we had some great weather whilst we were there.
We enjoyed a day trip to RSPB Minsmere which we would thoroughly recommend.
I'm sure we will return again to Chestnutt Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach hut was fab
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
We are very pleased that your visit to Southwold was so successful and that you enjoyed staying in our simply styled, well equipped, comfortable, gas central heated, holiday home. We are delighted too, that you were able to make full use of the beach hut , which is an extra option, available only to guests staying in our cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage. Beautiful location.”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Chestnutt cottage is beautifully located on the edge of Southwold. The owners also have a beach hut on the sea front which we used. I can imagine that in the summer it would be ideal. Went on lovely walks in the area. The cottage was well-equipped with helpful maps and guides. It was clean and comfortable. Friends made use of the local golf course and we paid a visit to the local Adnams brewery. Enjoyed every minute.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
You were our first Dutch visitors. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay In Chestnutt Cottage and found the maps and guides useful when planning your walks and outings. There is so much to do in Southwold and the surrounding area that visitors often find their stay is over far too soon. We hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing