We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
3
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Just had a lovely stay at Gorse House. Mike and Sue were fantastic hosts. Room was spotless. En suite was very good. Shower had excellent pressure and put many high class hotels to shame. Breakfast was excellent with locally sourced produce, proper orange juice, cafetiere and Dorset muesli selection. Everything was on the button and would have no hesitation in recommending. The only very minor issue I had as a glasses wearer was that due to the room layout I had nowhere to put my glasses beside the bed.

A particularly nice touch was we had purchased a bottle of Prosecco and when we returned from lunch a pair of wine glasses were left in our room. Nothing was too much trouble.

Southwold is well within walking distance. We stayed predominantly to visit the Adnams brewery for gin making which was excellent.

For places to eat we would thoroughly recommend Le Roc (Out of this world for the money) and Sole Bay. Sutherland House did great chips but winced at the bill when draught Aspalls came up at £6.50 a pint!!! I suspect in high season that getting fed in Southwold could be a problem as it is definitely a big tourist area. We hope to return soon. :-)

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FoxyStoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

Spent 3 very comfortable nights in a modest size room that was very clean. Breakfasts were excellent. Owners made us very welcome .

Would have no hesitation in recommending this place to our friends

Only reason haven't rated it '5 star' is that there is no wi-fi available

Date of stay: April 2015
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We stayed for two nights at this very comfortable accommodation. The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. A good nights sleep was followed by a loverly well cooked breakfast.
This b&b is well positioned just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Southwold, and also has ample car parking.
No complaints from us at all.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed two nights in this very comfortable B&B which has two double bedrooms. The breakfast was very good with options of full/partial english breakfast very nicely cooked plus good range of cereals, yoghurt and fruit.. The host was very helpful advising us on locations to go and lending us his OS map. WE are keen photographers so his input was very useful.

Bed was comfortable- we stayed in the smaller room which didn't have a lot of room at the side of the bed but the price was very reasonable. Reydon is a little out of Southwold but walkable in 10 minutes to the edge and 15 to the centre. Parking for 3 cars off road

Room tip: I think the small room might be cheaper if you are thinking of economising
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zorrothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews