We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Amber House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amber House
Ranked #6 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as meeting up with family who were also on Holiday in Southwold. Really nice guest house. Owner very friendly. Great English breakfast in morning. We have room 4 at top of house with great views of sea and pier. Very clean and tidy. Not much water pressure on shower but more than enough to wash with so not a big problem. Would recommend this to anyone. Nowhere is that far in Southwold. So this is pretty central. Although the harbour is a bit of a trek but well worth the walk. Food is good at Harbour Inn.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Taurushq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay at Amber house with my wife, clean, friendly and oh so quiet. Lots of choice for breakfast, my wife had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Southwold is very quaint and just the place to visit if you want to recharge your batteries

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

That last revue was very unfair ,my cousin has just stayed two nights , lovely Sea view. Very comfortable ,bed beautiful breakfast Lou and Di so friendly and you can come and go as you please it is to be highly recommended
We had a lovely dinner at Crown red lion and Randolph all three to be top class
Sue Doy

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Lovely house, first class breakfast, very warm welcome. We were made to feel most welcome and given recommendations for eating in Southwold which were very good.
The house is immaculate and comfortable.

Room Tip: The front bedroom, overlooking the sea is beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We had to go to England on short notice in march due to bereavement. We were very happy to find Amber House open for business and in such a great location. This B & B is on the seafront in sight of the pier. Our room was lovely, large enough for a double and single bed (although we did not need it) and for a seating area with sofa. There were two windows and a sea view! Being March, it was quite chilly but the room was heated and warm. breakfasts were varied - not just the traditional fry-up and my husband was in heaven having local kippers or smoked haddock each morning. We were made more than welcome. I would recommend this B & B to anyone visiting the Suffolk coast.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.4 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
340 reviews
0.6 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
794 reviews
0.4 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
402 reviews
20.9 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,048 reviews
0.5 km away
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House

Address: 24 North Parade, Southwold IP18 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range: RM467 - RM714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have set out to make Amber House the home-from-home that will turn every one of your visits into a happy memory. This spacious Victorian family house on the seafront has been completely refurbished, retaining the period style of the spacious, well-proportioned interior while placing the emphasis on up-to-date comforts. We have personally designed and furnished our guest rooms, giving each its own distinctive style. All are en-suite with central heating, colour television and tea-making facilities. Three have magnificent sea views including our superb, well appointed triple room whose generous bay window affords a breathtaking panorama across the whole of Sole Bay. Amber House is our home. We want you to make it yours too, whenever you're in Southwold. We guarantee a warm welcome! Full English or Continental Breakfast, Double and Twin Rooms, Spacious Deluxe Room with double bed and a single, lots of room, sofa, armchair and superb views of the beach, pier and sea. Large Comfortable Sitting Room and Dining Room, Full Fire Certificate, Wireless Hairdryers provided, Prices for Double or Twin: £85 - £100, Triple Room: £110 for 2 sharing or £130 for 3 sharing (10% discount for 7 nights or more). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Southwold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing