We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As traditional and lovely as bed and breakfasts come”
Review of Amber House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amber House
Ranked #6 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2016

What can I say? My two friends and I went here last year and were given a stylish and spacious three person room. This bed and breakfast is superb. The breakfasts are excellent and Diana will consider specific requests in advance. The house is beautiful, as are the rooms and it is ideally placed on the Southwold front with roadside parking available behind and in front. Diana's and her daughter Louise were terrific and I would love to stay again. It's important to remember that this is Diana's house and she will expect you to treat her with the same respect that she treats you. Realise that - and there's nothing you will want for whilst staying here. I was so impressed. This is traditional bed and breakfast served at it's very best in the most beautiful, well kept, spacious and clean setting.

Room Tip: 3 person room available among others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed for 2 nights sat-mon. We were greeted by Di and her daughter who showed us to our room.
Location - on the seafront within easy walking distance of the town, pier, lighthouse and brewery. The harbour is about half an hour walk.
Parking- we went of a very warm Saturday in the school holidays.We arrived at 10am and managed to park in a road just past the hotel. ARRIVE EARLY!!!
Rooms -. We had room 3. A small double overlooking the sea. Very comfortable, the shower could do with a bit of updating. We did have to shut the window at night because the noise of the sea was quite loud. Once shut we heard nothing all night from either inside or outside. There are no lifts and had to go up 3 flights of stairs. This was not a problem for us with just one small suitcase to carry. This may be a problem for those less able or with lots of luggage.
Breakfast - was great, as choice of cerals, fruit, salmon for full englished.
Wifi- There is free wifi which worked fine on the first day then would not connect at all.
Great stay !

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sleepysheep27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as meeting up with family who were also on Holiday in Southwold. Really nice guest house. Owner very friendly. Great English breakfast in morning. We have room 4 at top of house with great views of sea and pier. Very clean and tidy. Not much water pressure on shower but more than enough to wash with so not a big problem. Would recommend this to anyone. Nowhere is that far in Southwold. So this is pretty central. Although the harbour is a bit of a trek but well worth the walk. Food is good at Harbour Inn.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Taurushq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay at Amber house with my wife, clean, friendly and oh so quiet. Lots of choice for breakfast, my wife had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Southwold is very quaint and just the place to visit if you want to recharge your batteries

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

That last revue was very unfair ,my cousin has just stayed two nights , lovely Sea view. Very comfortable ,bed beautiful breakfast Lou and Di so friendly and you can come and go as you please it is to be highly recommended
We had a lovely dinner at Crown red lion and Randolph all three to be top class
Sue Doy

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.4 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
342 reviews
0.6 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
794 reviews
0.4 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
403 reviews
20.9 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,049 reviews
0.5 km away
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber House

Address: 24 North Parade, Southwold IP18 6LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range: RM465 - RM710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have set out to make Amber House the home-from-home that will turn every one of your visits into a happy memory. This spacious Victorian family house on the seafront has been completely refurbished, retaining the period style of the spacious, well-proportioned interior while placing the emphasis on up-to-date comforts. We have personally designed and furnished our guest rooms, giving each its own distinctive style. All are en-suite with central heating, colour television and tea-making facilities. Three have magnificent sea views including our superb, well appointed triple room whose generous bay window affords a breathtaking panorama across the whole of Sole Bay. Amber House is our home. We want you to make it yours too, whenever you're in Southwold. We guarantee a warm welcome! Full English or Continental Breakfast, Double and Twin Rooms, Spacious Deluxe Room with double bed and a single, lots of room, sofa, armchair and superb views of the beach, pier and sea. Large Comfortable Sitting Room and Dining Room, Full Fire Certificate, Wireless Hairdryers provided, Prices for Double or Twin: £85 - £100, Triple Room: £110 for 2 sharing or £130 for 3 sharing (10% discount for 7 nights or more). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amber House Hotel Southwold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing