We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect mini-break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Oast

The Oast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Oast
Bedroom 1 Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Oast
Bedroom 1
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Upstairs WC
Kitchen/ Diner
Bedroom 2
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mayfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jenni R
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect mini-break”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Fantastic little cottage tucked away in the Sussex countryside. My boyfriend and I were there for 2 nights over new year, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There are beautiful walks around - we walked to Mayfield and had a lovely lunch from the deli there, before heading back via fields for a very scenic route.

The cottage itself is perfect, easily enough space for 2 (and another spacious single bedroom), with good facilities for self-catering. The welcome pack on arrival was brilliant and a great touch.

Thoroughly recommend this cottage if you are after a peaceful break, and there is so much to explore if you drive around. I wish we had been able to stay for longer!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabha04
1 review
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

It was a perfect holiday home. Exactly what we were looking for. Very relaxing and cozy. We went with our 6 month old baby who seemed to enjoy the place as it was very homely and warm. The welcome pack was amazing. We would definitely come back for another relaxing weekend. :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and Comfy”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I was on a course while staying here so didn't see much of the area but the cottage was warm and comfy and it was so peaceful. The welcome pack was a great touch, bread, milk butter, biscuits, marmalade and more. All in all a great stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPnl
Goes, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We only stayed a few days in The Oast, but enjoyed it very much. Our host was very friendly and welcomed us with bread, fruit, milk and nice flowers in the rooms. We took a walk through the fields, met the cows and found a beautiful landscape. We visited the Airshow at Eastbourne and saw the Red Arrows fly by, fantastic!
Although the 2nd bedroom is a bit small, the cottage itself has everything for a very nice stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially the soft beds!
Liked least: The roads leading to The Oast are a bit narrow.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maraktos
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderfully quiet, secluded and characterful holiday home”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a fantastic place, ideally situated, very comfortable and with friendly, generous owners, Daphne and Terry who could not be more unobtrusive! We certainly intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing