We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday 70th Birthday Celebration”
Review of The Nags Head

The Nags Head
Ranked #49 of 187 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: US$13 - US$59
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Whether you join us for a delicious roast on a lazy Sunday afternoon or a devilish dessert to get through the week, The Nag’s Head is sure to satisfy all of your cravings. All of our menus have been carefully selected to accommodate every taste and appetite, allowing you to tuck into a wide range of dishes that are perfect for every occasion. A great destination for brunch, lunch, and dinner, The Nag’s Head should always be your first port of call for a celebratory meal, a light lunch to refuel on a busy day, or a nibble and drinks with friends. And you’ll be pleased to hear that we are also a child friendly establishment, so please feel free to bring your little ones along for lots of good grub in great surroundings. We offer a dedicated children’s menu that they are sure to love.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My niece booked a table for 8 with a person called Hannah on either the 8th or 9th February for 1.30 on Easter Sunday 1.4.2018 and was told it was all booked in for her. My sister in law had to phone and book an additional 2 people on the table. She was told that it had been updated.
On arriving at the restaurant today we were told there was no booking. I don’t know whether they were expecting us to just disappear but no effort was made to apologise for their error, offer alternative accommodation, provide a round of drinks whilst they shuffled tables to enable us to sit together. It was left for 3 people in their 70s and 2 in their 60s to help manoeuvre very heavy tables into suitable positions for us to eat our food. The tables weren’t wiped clean, we had to remove discarded serviettes and rubbish from the tables ourselves. This is not the sort of treatment I expect from a place which advertises that it is “perfectly equipped to accommodate all of your dining requirements” it obviously isn’t and left us utterly disgusted with our treatment.
We will most definitely not be going back!

Thank Ann-Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Ann-Marie,

Firstly let me apologise if you felt you were not valued. The waitress at the host apologised for the error and offered the bar. If the manager hadnt been requested bu your party she would have offered to put the tables rogether for you. When she arrived the tables had been arranged.
Encase you were not aware table service is not provided in the bar area however due to the error the manager personally took your order at the table after apologising.
Again I apologise for the situation and that the tables had not yet been cleared when you wanted a seat. This is not the premium standard we aim for.

Thank you

Nags Head Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I booked a table in advance for Easter Sunday for 8 people to celebrate my aunt's 70th birthday and my aunt rang soon after and asked for an extra two people to be included. They told us it was no problem. We arrived today to be told there was no booking! The attitude was very much 'well it's not on the computer so you couldn't have booked...' after insisting we had called twice and it was the restaurant's error they reluctantly admitted that it must be the computer that had lost the booking. But it took a long time before they shifted from almost blaming us for not having a booking to accepting it might be their error. We were told there was no table for us. Once we insisted that we had booked - twice- the staff just blamed the computer. Basically it was 'hard luck' my aunt's birthday lunch had been spoiled by their mix up and there was no apology. we finally settled in the bar area and decided to order and eat off of tables there which were far from practical.
Relatives had travelled a long way for this meal which was spoilt by not having a table at the restaurant. The staff did not really take responsibility for this error. It was just like it was our hard luck!
Eventually we settled down and ordered and ate our meals which were very nice and the staff seemed pleasant. But there was no attempt to make up for their error, no goodwill gesture or anything. Not a drink or anything to say sorry for letting us down and spoiling my aunt's day. Very poor customer service. Shame because I'm sure it is a nice pub. The food was good and staff seemed nice. But... Would you go back after this experience?

Thank 298alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello 298alison,

I apologise for the situation and that you felt we didn’t provide premium guest service. This is not the standards we aim for.
Unfortunately when the booking is not on the system and we are fully booked, we do not have any other tables in the restuarant to accommodate anyone else, including a party of 9.
We do not provide table service in the bar area but due to the sitiation we took you orders and provided service to the tables to accommodate you.
Again I am sorry this happened in the first place.

Thank you

The Nags Head Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Went on a Friday night as couldn't get in anywhere else. Very busy noisy & crowded. Food OK . Perhaps not the best night to judge on.

Thank Peckspick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello Peckspick

Thank you for your review. possibly a bank holiday weekend wouldn't be the best evening for a quiet visit.

As the warm weather approaches we have a lovely garden area which has sun hitting all day and as the evenings turn cooler we have heaters for a more pleasent, quite experience.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

The Nags Head Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Called in one Monday for Lunch and it was very enjoyable and good value with attentive staff being there in the background , not hovering but available when you wanted them. Piping hot food and a nice relaxed feel. You MUST register your car when you go in as it is close (500 metres) from M25 junction so people abuse the car park. Clients get 3 hours free parking - Interesting reviews about people being there longer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrandlerGalleries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hello BrandlerGalleries

Thank you for you lovely review and for informing future guests of the parking restrictions. Hope you visit again. We have a gorgeous back garden that is lovely when the sun is out.

The Nags Head Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

First thing first. The food is very nice. Now onto service. We booked for 8.15 and told two members of staff prior to 8.15 thAt we were there. At 8.35 my wife went to check to be told that ‘we were already seated’. The problem was that the manager and a number of his staff were too busy chatting all night to their friends at the bar. Won’t be recommending and won’t be back.

2  Thank CaptAndyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Nags Head, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hello CaptAndyK,

I am very sorry to hear you experience fell short on the service we pride ourselves on. Thank you for the feedback. I can use it to rectify these situations.
I really hope you visit us again and the experience improves tenfold.

The Nags Head Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nags Head also viewed

Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing