We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
39
9
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
9
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nothing too much trouble gluten free biscuits will continue to do so friendly hosts stayed here recommend this hotel close to town centre convenient location enjoyable stay spacious room free wifi car park facilities
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Very warm welcome the Hosts are lovely people. Good spacious room clean and tidy. Very comfy bed, so cosy could have lingered longer! Good facilities( including its own car park) and close to town centre. Excellent plentiful breakfast. Even managed to produce non dairy milk for my wife. Hosts could not do enough for us. Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevebos, Owner at Boswell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hello Carol W ...thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Boswell House Hotel and we hope to see you again when you next visit Essex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Lovely friendly hosts. Very attentive. Nice room with comfy bed and good facilities. Would highly recommend. Good price. Stayed 2 nights and would stay here again. Hosts gave us maps and recommended places to visit. Breakfasts very tasty.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicki135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevebos, Owner at Boswell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hello Nikki135 ...Thank you for your review. It is always good to receive a positive review from new guests who have enjoyed their stay at The Boswell House Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Essex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I booked 3 rooms at the Boswell House Hotel, 5 members of my family stayed there, they were all very impressed by the warm greeting and general attitude of the owners, a very clean and well run establishment and close to town, a very convenient location, I will certainly use this hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2016
1  Thank Mike1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevebos, Owner at Boswell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2016

Hello Mike1962 .. Thank you for your review and we were pleased that your family enjoyed their stay at The Boswell House Hotel. We look forward to seeing them on their next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a Saturday night. It was easy to find and had its own car park. Check in was easy and I was shown to my room. It was a large single with en suite shower and toilet. Nice fluffy towels and very clean. Next day breakfast was served and it was very good. Very close to the shops and a large Tesco about 5 minutes walk.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank HenryIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevebos, Owner at Boswell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

HenryIG ..thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Boswell House Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Award winning breakfast and found the hotel conveniently located for your stay. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed two nights to attend a friends Birthday. Free car parking and WIFI the Hotel is close to local shopping area great for picking up forgotten items. The rooms were very clean and we appointed, the owners could not have been more helpful and made may stay a wonderful experience, they arranged transport to the birthday venue nothing was to much trouble. a great selection of local beers was on offer in the Hotel bar. Breakfast was excellent on both days. I would recommend this Hotel and will be use it again.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pclmcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevebos, Owner at Boswell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Hello pclmcdowell ..thank you for your review of The Boswell House Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed "a wonderful experience" during your recent visit. As a small independent hotel that is what we hope to achieve for every guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews