We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay for my wedding!”
Review of Channels Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Channels Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2016

I stayed at Channels lodge for the weekend whilst getting married at the Channels barn. We hired all 6 rooms in the lodge for family to stay in and it was so nice to have the whole place to our selves, we all had separate keys and could go in and out as we pleased. I stayed in the Oak suite which is the honeymoon suite and it is just beautiful, huge bed and lovely large bathroom with bath tub and shower. Breakfast was included in the price which you had over in the main restaurant, this was very nice and a good variety.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing but the Oak suite is very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steph1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Many congratulations. I hope, following your recent wedding in the Barn and your stay at the Lodge, that Channels will have proved the launch pad for a very long and happy life together. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016

We had to take our Sprigador, Oscar to his first wedding this weekend. Unfortunately the venue wasn't dog friendly, so we stayed at Channels Lodge Hotel, (a beautiful 15 century converted house and stable block) just outside of Chelmsford. Oscar was made to feel like a very special guest, throughout our stay, including at breakfast. (The breakfast was amazing too) Beautiful walks and what looked like a very nice golf course (we don't play) Anyone looking for a very dog friendly hotel in Essex, this one is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Love me, love my dog' is a saying which we at Channels have taken very much to heart and so it was a great pleasure to read in this review that our guests both two legged and four legged had enjoyed their stay. I hope that we may see them all again in the not too distant future. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed for one night and found ourselves in the Aspen Suite above the main golf club restaurant. Channels is a beautifully appointed retreat, superbly furnished. The main house is lovely, we have stayed several times. The quality is fantastic. Our only minor criticism would be that the bath robes were not as soft as would have been ideal! Other than that it was majestic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

This is an excellent notice for which my sincere thanks. As to the bath robes, these come in both winter and summer weights so if, as I hope, we have the pleasure to welcome our reviewer back later in the year he should find that their softness and fluffiness has been fully restored. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I revisited this hotel with my wife this weekend as I had always promised to bring her here. In my previous job I used to stay at Channel's lodge 2-4 nights a week, the reason I did that then, and the reason I returned this weekend was because the setting is stunning, the rooms are beautifully done, the food is fantastic and ever changing so visitors like me never get bored with what is on offer.

It was lovely to come back and see how Simon has managed to find a way to improve what was already an amazing hotel, I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

In this this splendid review, penned by someone who has stayed with us on many occasions, reference is made to the improvements that we continue to carry out. But much of the credit should, I feel, go to our guests whose suggestions we always welcome and to which, wherever possible, we are very happy to respond. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay in the cottage. Great venue and would love to stay again. Spacious and modern. Ideal location with a nice graden, a BBQ in the garden would be good for a small party. All very Clean and welcoming. Great wedding venue.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank JohnEyersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

It was good to know that our guest had thought well of the amenities offered by the Cottage, a self-contained unit within the Channels complex, and I am grateful to him for taking the time and trouble to post this very kind review. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
5.1 km away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
7.2 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
434 reviews
10.7 km away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 11 in Chelmsford
450 reviews
13.3 km away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
193 reviews
12.5 km away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channels Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channels Lodge

Address: Belsteads Farm Lane | Little Waltham, Chelmsford CM3 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range: RM527 - RM709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channels Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channels Lodge is one of the finest Hotels in Chelmsford, surrounded by the golf course, this beautifully converted 15th Century Tudor house is an ideal place for a business traveller to stay or wedding hotel near Chelmsford city centre. The hotel has 17 spacious guest rooms which have been individually designed and equipped to the highest standards combining the finest of the old with the finest of the new. Each room is decorated stylishly, some in mind for business man and business women and others designed in consideration for romantic breaks. There are two restaurants within the grounds of Channels both are renowned for their excellent food and friendly service. Bar snacks can also be purchased from the Club House. The hotel is situated close to the A12 between Chelmsford (2 miles) and Colchester (25 miles) and with Stansted Airport only 20 minutes away, makes Channels Lodge in the heart of the Essex countryside, a perfect location for both business and pleasure. Free parking when traveling to and from Stansted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Channels Hotel Chelmsford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing