We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pontlands Park(Great Baddow)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel(Chelmsford)
US$103
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Riverside Inn(Chelmsford)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel(Chelmsford)(Great Value!)
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel(Chelmsford)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
454
53
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
454
53
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoak suitehoneymoon suitethe barnroll top bathholly roomunderfloor heatingbeautiful place to staymini barrooms are amazingfresh milkwedding venuebeautiful roomlovely settingexcellent accommodationlittle toucheshuge bedmr mrs
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We had to take our Sprigador, Oscar to his first wedding this weekend. Unfortunately the venue wasn't dog friendly, so we stayed at Channels Lodge Hotel, (a beautiful 15 century converted house and stable block) just outside of Chelmsford. Oscar was made to feel like a very special guest, throughout our stay, including at breakfast. (The breakfast was amazing too) Beautiful walks and what looked like a very nice golf course (we don't play) Anyone looking for a very dog friendly hotel in Essex, this one is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Love me, love my dog' is a saying which we at Channels have taken very much to heart and so it was a great pleasure to read in this review that our guests both two legged and four legged had enjoyed their stay. I hope that we may see them all again in the not too distant future. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed for one night and found ourselves in the Aspen Suite above the main golf club restaurant. Channels is a beautifully appointed retreat, superbly furnished. The main house is lovely, we have stayed several times. The quality is fantastic. Our only minor criticism would be that the bath robes were not as soft as would have been ideal! Other than that it was majestic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

This is an excellent notice for which my sincere thanks. As to the bath robes, these come in both winter and summer weights so if, as I hope, we have the pleasure to welcome our reviewer back later in the year he should find that their softness and fluffiness has been fully restored. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I revisited this hotel with my wife this weekend as I had always promised to bring her here. In my previous job I used to stay at Channel's lodge 2-4 nights a week, the reason I did that then, and the reason I returned this weekend was because the setting is stunning, the rooms are beautifully done, the food is fantastic and ever changing so visitors like me never get bored with what is on offer.

It was lovely to come back and see how Simon has managed to find a way to improve what was already an amazing hotel, I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

In this this splendid review, penned by someone who has stayed with us on many occasions, reference is made to the improvements that we continue to carry out. But much of the credit should, I feel, go to our guests whose suggestions we always welcome and to which, wherever possible, we are very happy to respond. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay in the cottage. Great venue and would love to stay again. Spacious and modern. Ideal location with a nice graden, a BBQ in the garden would be good for a small party. All very Clean and welcoming. Great wedding venue.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank JohnEyersx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

It was good to know that our guest had thought well of the amenities offered by the Cottage, a self-contained unit within the Channels complex, and I am grateful to him for taking the time and trouble to post this very kind review. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This was my first time at Channels - and if I stay in the area again I will definitely go back. I stayed in Willows, a room on the ground floor of the main house - it was enormous, very clean and very comfortable (luxurious!). Tea and coffee facilities included real coffee (and cafetiere) and fresh milk. There is a mini-bar in the room, free WiFi and Sky TV. The welcome was warm and friendly, the reception process was very quick and I was immediately shown to my room.
I ate in the clubhouse which is a short walk across the car park (there was a golfing umbrella provided in the room if it rained!!!!). My evening meal was very good and they were confident about gluten free options. For breakfast there were gluten free sausages and toast; and they understood about the risks of cross-contamination. The waiting staff were again very friendly.
If you are staying in the Chelmsford area, stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

The recommendation contained in this very comprehensive review is much appreciated as is the reference to gluten free options available in the clubhouse restaurant which has long recognised the individual tastes and requirements of many of our guests. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews