We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel(Chelmsford)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pontlands Park(Great Baddow)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lion Inn(Chelmsford)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel(Chelmsford)(Great Value!)
US$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Acreland Green Bed and Breakfast(Chelmsford)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel(Chelmsford)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
449
53
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
449
53
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cluboak suitehoneymoon suitethe barnroll top bathmini barrooms are amazingfresh milkwedding nightwedding venuebeautiful roomexcellent accommodationlittle toucheshuge bedwonderful staycosta coffeedaughters wedding
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We and a number of the wedding guests stayed at the Channels Lodge for 1-2 nights and every single one of us were so impressed with the quality of the rooms and our every single one of the staff were so friendly, enthusiastic and genuinely happy to provide a excellent service!

Channels as the wedding venue and the staff there were equally as brilliant.

You will see I don't write many reviews but the whole wedding experience for my wife, our friends, family and most importantly for my daughter Caitlin and her husband Chris was nigh on perfect.

Many thanks to all the staff at Channels and we would 100% recommend this venue for a stay or any type of function.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for posting such an excellent review and recommendation which all the team at Channels Lodge greatly enjoyed reading. And in responding we should like to take the opportunity to wish the happy couple every happiness in the years ahead. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Finally had a chance to stay here, following recommendations from others, for work. Wasn't disappointed. Stayed in the Birch Suite after checking in with the friendly reception and being shown in with some fresh milk provided for hot drinks. An impressive and well provisioned suite with a separate large bathroom (separate bath and shower). Room large and comfy with a large and very comfortable bed. Room was very quiet, good for sleeping. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

While extolling our several virtues I think that this is the first review to stress the restful nature of a stay at Channels Lodge and I am grateful to the writer for mentioning it. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Excellent standard , very welcoming. we stayed in the lodges , others stayed in the old house which was equally spectacular. A small private group of accommodation, adjacent to pub/ restaurant/golf course. Good breakfast, charming staff

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnatOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

This excellent review finds kind things to say about many aspects of Channels Lodge the most gratifying of all being the friendliness of our team. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

I don't normally leave reviews, but felt I had to in this case. This hotel is amazing, you can really tell that the owners take real pride in it. The staff are great, the grounds are beautiful and breakfast was fantastic. But what really stood out to us was how clean the rooms were...i'm quite pedantic about cleanliness and i have to say, they were spotless. The cleaners deserve a lot of praise. We stayed as a group of 6 adults. The only one little thing i can think of that's negative is that one of the rooms was quite chilly. But all in all, top job guys. We'll be back! Thank you Channels Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kimx4W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

In addition to the very kind things it has to say about Channels Lodge in general this excellent review singles out our housekeepers for special mention and I shall take particular pleasure in drawing it to their attention. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed at channels in the Aspen suite and Elm rooms the night before my wedding with my bridal party, and then hired the whole cottage for the evening of the wedding, and I absolutely loved it. The staff are so friendly and attentive, and I can't in any way fault the accommodation. I love the fact that all the rooms are slightly different and the cottage is just beautiful. The Aspen suite was perfect for bridal prep (although do be warned this is up 2 quite old narrow flights of stairs...but I thought this actually added to the charm), and the Oak suite was amazing for the night of the wedding. The cottage has a communal living room which is ideal for socialising after the wedding/the next morning. Breakfast is also included, which is also nice and the staff were really accommodating when we asked for a couple of small tweaks to the standard breakfast. I was really impressed and happy with the accommodation, as were our guests in the other rooms. I would definitely consider staying again and I don't actually live that far away.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank impey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

This very complimentary review put a smile on on all our faces and I hope that the writer's close proximity means that we may soon welcome the happy couple again to Channels Lodge. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews