We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place Ideal location”
Review of Channels Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Channels Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Chelmsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Room standard was superb we stayed in Poplar suite. The bar and restaurant staff were extremely helpful and polite. Restaurant food was very good, breakfast was very good with a great selection. Thai Wednesday is a must it was probably the best Thai food I have had. Park and Ride only 500m ideal for commuting into Chelmsford.

Room Tip: Poplar suite was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for giving Channels Lodge such a splendid write up and for pointing out the advantages which the nearby Park & Ride facility has to offer. It is very much appreciated. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We and a number of the wedding guests stayed at the Channels Lodge for 1-2 nights and every single one of us were so impressed with the quality of the rooms and our every single one of the staff were so friendly, enthusiastic and genuinely happy to provide a excellent service!

Channels as the wedding venue and the staff there were equally as brilliant.

You will see I don't write many reviews but the whole wedding experience for my wife, our friends, family and most importantly for my daughter Caitlin and her husband Chris was nigh on perfect.

Many thanks to all the staff at Channels and we would 100% recommend this venue for a stay or any type of function.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for posting such an excellent review and recommendation which all the team at Channels Lodge greatly enjoyed reading. And in responding we should like to take the opportunity to wish the happy couple every happiness in the years ahead. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Finally had a chance to stay here, following recommendations from others, for work. Wasn't disappointed. Stayed in the Birch Suite after checking in with the friendly reception and being shown in with some fresh milk provided for hot drinks. An impressive and well provisioned suite with a separate large bathroom (separate bath and shower). Room large and comfy with a large and very comfortable bed. Room was very quiet, good for sleeping. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

While extolling our several virtues I think that this is the first review to stress the restful nature of a stay at Channels Lodge and I am grateful to the writer for mentioning it. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Excellent standard , very welcoming. we stayed in the lodges , others stayed in the old house which was equally spectacular. A small private group of accommodation, adjacent to pub/ restaurant/golf course. Good breakfast, charming staff

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnatOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

This excellent review finds kind things to say about many aspects of Channels Lodge the most gratifying of all being the friendliness of our team. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

I don't normally leave reviews, but felt I had to in this case. This hotel is amazing, you can really tell that the owners take real pride in it. The staff are great, the grounds are beautiful and breakfast was fantastic. But what really stood out to us was how clean the rooms were...i'm quite pedantic about cleanliness and i have to say, they were spotless. The cleaners deserve a lot of praise. We stayed as a group of 6 adults. The only one little thing i can think of that's negative is that one of the rooms was quite chilly. But all in all, top job guys. We'll be back! Thank you Channels Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kimx4W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Channels Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

In addition to the very kind things it has to say about Channels Lodge in general this excellent review singles out our housekeepers for special mention and I shall take particular pleasure in drawing it to their attention. Simon Larner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
5.1 km away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
7.2 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
434 reviews
10.7 km away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#5 of 10 in Chelmsford
450 reviews
12.5 km away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
4.1 km away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 10 in Chelmsford
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channels Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channels Lodge

Address: Belsteads Farm Lane | Little Waltham, Chelmsford CM3 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Chelmsford
Price Range: RM525 - RM705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channels Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channels Lodge is one of the finest Hotels in Chelmsford, surrounded by the golf course, this beautifully converted 15th Century Tudor house is an ideal place for a business traveller to stay or wedding hotel near Chelmsford city centre. The hotel has 17 spacious guest rooms which have been individually designed and equipped to the highest standards combining the finest of the old with the finest of the new. Each room is decorated stylishly, some in mind for business man and business women and others designed in consideration for romantic breaks. There are two restaurants within the grounds of Channels both are renowned for their excellent food and friendly service. Bar snacks can also be purchased from the Club House. The hotel is situated close to the A12 between Chelmsford (2 miles) and Colchester (25 miles) and with Stansted Airport only 20 minutes away, makes Channels Lodge in the heart of the Essex countryside, a perfect location for both business and pleasure. Free parking when traveling to and from Stansted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Channels Hotel Chelmsford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing