We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse than Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Chelmsford
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Booked this hotel for a 3 night stay and it was the worst I have ever stayed in.
This hotel should not be listed anywhere as it is so bad.
The room wasn't serviced the whole time I was there.
Bathroom bin not emptied after previous occupant.
No exterior window.
Stained teacups.
Bedside lampshade burnt & cracked.
Main lampshade had been taken off.
Ceiling rose for main light had dropped, exposing wiring.
Crack in bath.
Dirty grouting.
Shower head not spraying correctly.
Shower soap dish hanging off tiles.
Bathroom shaving light dismantled (no cover or lamp).
Dressing table drawer off runners.
No remote control for small TV.

The only plus points were clean bed linen and clean towels.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

What a dump.
No toilet seat so changed rooms. Then no tv in room and shower didn't work.
Then to top off the stay the beds were bust with cigarette burns in the bedding checked out one day early one night was enough

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

This place was much much better than i expected for the money...I turned up at 10.30 am and was checked in straight away....Right in the centre of town so no taxis needed...For me its a perfecrly acceptable budget option in Chelmsford...and I will return for sure...Nice friendly staff...clean...and no noise from the bar downstairs...

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Dayworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

I've stayed here several times with friends. It's convenient as it's in the town centre so easy access to lots of restaurants in Chelmsford. Each time we stay we laugh like hyenas as the saying 'you get what you pay for' really does cover it. The description shabby cover the whole hotel which is such a shame as the building has great potential and it really wouldn't cost too much to turn it into 'Shabby Chic'. We stayed in room 1 which is described as a 'family room'. A double bed and two single beds. The linen was clean. One of the beds (mine) sagged on the left sucking me down into the depths of the mattress for most of the night.
There were two tv's. A Fridge that didn't work, tea and instant coffee (no Decaf) no kettle though :(. However one was provided after I asked.
The one lamp on the wall by the double bed had dents and cracks in it. The is a rail to hang clothes on with hangers but this is over one of the single beds :(
The carpet is very stained. The sash window opened however we had to use an empty Prosecco bottle to wedge it open as it wouldn't stay open and the room was sweltering hot.
The bathroom was a joke in that the toilet roll holder was broken as was the towel rail. There was sticky tape all over the soap dispenser and the toilet seat wasn't completely attached which was quite dangerous. When a staff member came to deliver the kettle I did show him these defects and he walked off shaking his head.....
It's noisy, very noisy but this is because it's over the bar which plays loud music into the early hours and then when that stops, you get to hear all the delivery vans arriving to the local shopping centre.
breakfast was ok and good value and staff pleasant enough. While we were having breakfast the ceiling started to leak copious amounts of water above the table next to us. Luckily we didn't get wet.
The chairs throughout the bar area are quite simply worn out beyond repair.
As I said at the beginning I have been there before and it's never great but this was the worst experience.
If you have a great sense of humour and need to stay right in town it's the only option and very cheap. £90 for the room breakfast £5. Don't expect to get much sleep. :)

Room Tip: They all have their quirkiness and not in a good way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Ellewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Not many in for Sunday lunch. No wonder, the food looked very bland and was tasteless. I had the beef. It was hot, not much on the plate and overpriced.

Either do it properly and fill the place or don't bother,

Not good for Sunday lunch.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Michaelk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
1 km away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#9 of 10 in Chelmsford
548 reviews
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
0.6 km away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 10 in Chelmsford
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#5 of 10 in Chelmsford
497 reviews
3.7 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
460 reviews
0.6 km away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head Hotel

Address: 3 High Street, Chelmsford CM1 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range: RM 219 - RM 489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saracens Head Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing