We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Chelmsford
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Thanks to Darren and the team for another great FGB dinner meeting! 34 of us were catered for in the Ballroom and we were treated to excellent service and a delicious two course menu with teas and coffees. We made a number of last minute changes to the meals and numbers, but the Saracen's Head staff accommodated the changes without complaint. We look forward to our next dinner at the SH in October.
Well done, one and all!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Been here a couple of times for lunch and the o it downside is the venue it's self, it's in dire need of a face lift, the outside furniture is all warped and peeling and the inside is dark and dingy, the toilets all though clean are very dated and resemble and underground public toilet. On the upside though the staff are very friendly, the service is very quick and the food is good value.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank tomcof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I was staying overnight with 13 of my teammates as we were playing in a hockey tournament in the area for the weekend. The "hotel" (I would call it more of a guesthouse) is located on top of a pub/bar. So be aware of that. It was noisy - probably the busiest bar in the area.

But some of the reviews on here make it out to be a complete dive - that is not the case. If you're looking for 5 star luxury, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a place to crash for the night, and happy to put up with a bit of noise, it's totally fine.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jasghataaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Omg this place is filthy, stained mattresses, cobwebs, filthy curtains, I could go on and on. Stayed there for just one night never ever again, noisy all night no staff about, the lack of care stands out like a sore thumb I actually feel like my skin is crawling after staying here, how does this place get away with it absolute shambles

Stayed: August 2017
4  Thank dorrie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Well, I hate shopping so a trip to the Saracens Head Hotel was called for. Great pub with great, friendly, service. Good range of beers with nice seating outside to watch the world go by. We had their Saracens Combo for sharing. At £11.85 a good buy. Nice pub to visit if, like me, you hate shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norman1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
1 km away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#9 of 10 in Chelmsford
545 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 10 in Chelmsford
420 reviews
0.7 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#5 of 10 in Chelmsford
495 reviews
3.7 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saracens Head Hotel

Address: 3 High Street, Chelmsford CM1 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Chelmsford
Price Range: RM 218 - RM 487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saracens Head Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing