We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to catch up with friends and forget...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!

Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley

Stylish and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Welcome to the stunning Hainault House!
Hainault House, a stunning holiday home in the historic heart of Blockley
Stylish and inviting living room
The lovely mullion window has a window seat and fabulous views
A great place to relax and enjoy the Cotswolds
The smart dining room, with the dining table set for eight
Roberts radio with iphone dock
The kitchen, which has a door out to the back garden
Gas fired Aga, plus an additional oven and hob
The additional breakfast room, just off the kitchen
A convenient utility space, perfect for doing the washing!
Bedroom 1, which can be set up as either 2 single beds or a superking size bed
There are lovely countryside views out of the window
The family bathroom, with character fireplace
Bath with overhead shower
The second living room, on the first floor (the fireplace is ornamental)
A beautiful room with exposed Cotswold stone wall, SMART TV and plenty of space to relax in
Bedroom 2, which can be made up as either a superking size bed or two single beds
Stylish bedside tables!
Looking into the ensuite bathroom...
...which includes a walk-in shower
Bedroom 3, in the second floor eaves, which contains a double bed
A lovely, spacious bedroom
Bedroom 4, also with a double bed...
...and a dormer window looking across the rooftops to the countryside beyond
The lower garden is accessed by steps up from the back door
Continuing up to the elevated upper garden...
...with amazing rural views!
Blockley's village green and bowling club!
The historic Norman church of St Peter and St Paul
The peaceful Blockley Brook winds through the village
One of the two pubs in Blockley...
...and the well regarded local shop and cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blockley, Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ChrisAndN...
Southport, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect place to catch up with friends and forget about phones and TV”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed 4 nights with friends, babies and toddlers and had a lovely time (in spite of the weather not cooperating). We made a couple of short journey's to Broadway and Bourton-on-the-Water for days out which the house was excellently located between the two. Blockley is a beautiful village.

I'll list the pro's and con's for the house itself, but I am being particular with the cons, they are not enough to drop the property to 4 stars in our opinion so bear that in mind.

Pro's
-Beautiful old quaint and characterful property with gorgeous stone floors and excellent provisions
-Huge fridge and cooking facilities (aga and oven)
-Good size bedrooms
-Beautiful views
-wine and cake left for arrival, such a lovely touch
-walkable to village and park for the children
-nice walks from the house, no need to drive out
-plenty of crockery and glassware etc.
-provision of travel cot and highchair
-lovely big dining table made long meals stretch on into the evening and gave a good game playing table
-Bathrooms both lovely and very well equipped, showers were lovely and hot and powerful
-Towels lovely and plentiful

Cons
-kitchen sort of split in two, with a big step between the two. The food and cooker in one side and all crockery in other side, probably walked several miles every time we cooked a meal!
-lots of steps in the house, but then this is likely true of most older properties and we managed fine with very young children. People with mobility issues would struggle though.
-like a previous reviewer has commented, we also found the pans not big enough for such a large house. We kept having to cook things in 2 batches.
-No space or cupboards to store our food in

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seperate lounge with no TV next to dining area
Liked least: Kitchen being split in two and lack of food storage
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Oldness of the place
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Flembo39
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The most perfect place to stay.....”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed here Fri-Sun with my friends to celebrate my friends 50th birthday. From the moment you walk in, its cosy and welcoming. We were left a bottle of red wine and a cake which was a very generous touch. It is a wonderful home, oozing charm. The bedrooms are clean, beds very comfortable. There is a wonderful Aga in the kitchen which warms the house. Hainalt House is in a great location. We didnt do a great deal, it was an opportunitiy for good friends to just sit, eat and talk and be 'still' in this ever busy world.

Thoroughly recommend this cottage - just wonderful. Thank you

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: great location
Liked least: no mobile phone coverage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHEENA197...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely weekend retreat”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I booked Hainult House for my partners 50th birthday to take him and his children away for the weekend as a surprise!!
The house was warm and inviting when we arrived. Thank you for the wine and cake...a lovely touch. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. All 4 bedrooms were spacious with such comfy beds!!
We cooked on Friday and Saturday, then went out for a delicious Sunday luch at the Great Western pub in Blockley.
Blockley is perfect for walks, stopping at the local pubs for a beer or two.

If you want a weekend in a gorgeous house, in a beautiful tranquil village, Hainult House is for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenche...
Cambs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb setting and cottage”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We recently returned from a 5 day break at Hainault House. The house itself is full of character and had everything we could need. It's a beautiful village and the views from the top of the garden were well worth the hike up there (to be fair, living in Cambridgeshire, anything more than a molehill is a bit of a climb to us!). Also enjoyed watching the sheep race on the hillside at feeding time!

We couldn't have picked a better week as far as the weather was concerned - very lucky. The cake and wine were a lovely touch and went down very well. We had a barbecue on Tuesday evening and the soundtrack provided by the choir in the small village hall behind was an unexpected surprise; very entertaining!

We took walkie talkies to communicate in our convoy of 3 families however they also came in very handy to radio down from the garden to those in the kitchen to bring cold beers from the fridge!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views, great location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$192
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing