We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“failed booking given a room that wasnt what i paid for offered pathetic £40 refund”
Review of The Lowry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lowry Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

booked and paid for a superior king was given a room that not even listed on any the pictures and was half the size of what was advertised when i complained i was offered £40 absolute insult considering what i paid beware the room is an adjoining substandard room not whats pictured on the website

Room Tip: do not get stuck with a joining room thats half the size and not pictured on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonpHarding, Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Lowry. I truly appreciate you taking the time and trouble to review your visit.

May I first of all say how very sorry I am that you left the hotel less than satisfied with the experience you received. We all take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service and for this reason I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations.

I would like to express my sincere apologies that you were unhappy with the booking process I can comfirm that the upgrade fee of £40 is the correct amount and difference refunded by the on shift Duty Manager . I have emailed you personally away from this public forum and invite you to contact me, so that I may find out more details of your visit and can investigate the issues you raised in more detail.

Despite these unfortunate experiences, we hope that you will consider staying at The Lowry again in the near future, so we may have another opportunity to provide to you a more memorable experience.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Harding

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 2,719 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, the location was great, the staff were so attentive, so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much for them. The room was beautiful. The bed was comfortable. Great location, close to the city centre and the arena.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 7 Stub App Tablet
Thank ttfan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonpHarding, Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and found the team very attentive and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip and many more occasions to come.

Many Thanks

Simon Harding

Director Of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Stayed here last week while visiting my son at Manchester Uni. Great location, just a few hundred meters from the centre of town (via a footbridge) but quietly located on the river (Inwell I think). Good food. Nice restaurant with terrace on the water. Big, quiet modern rooms. Nice staff, especially the concierge team. All in: not the cheapest but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Poorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonpHarding, Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed thoughts with the Trip Advisor community what a fantastic review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially the dining experience in our two rosette river restaurant.

I'll be sure to share your comments with the relevant managers from our team here.


We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Many Thanks

Simon Harding

Director Of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Conference at Lowry Hotel but failed Lowry booking process had me booked overnight stay a day too early and lost my money! Very frustrating experience realised on the day before our original date that the website had changed our day to a day early. I informed web bookings to be told we were a no show and would need to pay again. We went elsewhere and will never book there again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonpHarding, Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community. Please accept my own personal apologies that certain aspects of your experience did not live up to your own expectations and our usual high standards.

I'll be sure to share both your comments with the relevant managers from my team here.

I would like to discuss your comments personally in more detail, I am unable to find your profile here at the Hotel from your username on this forum. Please could I ask you to contact me directly either on 0161 827 4075 or

simon.harding@thelowryhotel.com

I look forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks

Simon Harding
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

We stayed at The Lowry on 5.10.17 on our wedding night, having stayed in many hotels of varying standards in this country and around the world I found The Lowry to be disappointing for 5 star rating. The seal at the end of the bath was going black and there was hair on the tiles above the bath. My step daughter had booked a turn down service but as we were not expecting room service we said we hadn't ordered anything, the person just went away without explaining it had been booked to surprise us. The tea/ coffee making supplies were very basic and just four plastic packs of milk supplied. We live in Manchester and were disappointed to think this is the impression being given of our city. Breakfast was buffet style and just warm. No pool. Tried to click Trip Advisor rating buttons, no response Service 3, Rooms 4, Value 2, disappointed

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cforshaw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonpHarding, Manager at The Lowry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Lowry. I truly appreciate you taking the time and trouble to review your visit.

May I first of all say how very sorry I am that you left the hotel less than satisfied with the bedroom offering. May I invite you to email me at simon.harding@thelowryhotel.com
or call my direct line on 0161 827 4075 so that I may find out more details of your visit.

Despite the constructive points you have raised, we hope that you will consider staying at The Lowry again in the near future, so we may have another opportunity to provide to you a more memorable experience and congratulations to you and new wife on your wedding.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Harding

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salford
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,213 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
711 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
1 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lowry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowry Hotel

Address: 50 Dearmans Place | Chapel Wharf, Salford M3 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salford
#1 Business Hotel in Salford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salford
Price Range: RM555 - RM2,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lowry Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manchester's most fashionable hotel, the award-winning Lowry Hotel is ideally situated on the banks of the River Irwell in the recently-developed Chapel Wharf area on the Salford-Manchester boundary. The first five-star hotel in Greater Manchester, The Lowry Hotel makes a bold contemporary architectural statement with its dramatic, curved, glass-fronted façade that creates a light and airy feel within the hotel interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lowry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lowry Hotel Salford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing