We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
39
23
10
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
23
10
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east meon walking the south downs the pub comfortable overnight stay warm welcome excellent breakfast great shower room was large would stay again stayed here for one night car park accommodation ensuite sdw sink
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Visited yesterday for a pub lunch whilst on a walk.

We have visited this pub several times and its always good, yesterday in particular.

We both had the rib eye steak sarnies which were fab. Proper steak which is unusual for a sandwich.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jackie186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We stayed over night at the ' ye old George inn' and enjoyed evening meal and breakfast the next morning. The food we had in the bar that evening was very good and the breakfast the next morning was superb enhanced by the gentleman who served us. Our room (superior) was lovely, huge and comfortable and well appointed. There are some downsides to staying at this hostelry. The place is locked up until 6 pm and our arrival was greeted by darkness and " Is this really a pub with rooms and restaurant or perhaps it's the local mortuary"---oops!!!! The second negative was the miserable face of the waitress who served us. Perhaps she had just received bad news or was nursing a toothache. I would expect this sort of dour attitude from a government department or maybe a undertaker but if you chose to work in a service industry it's polite to smile occasionally, I promise your face won't crack. IF we return at some point then I must remember to pack my red plastic flashing flashing nose, I can switch it on and see what kind of reaction it gets, always the optimist !!!!!!

Room Tip: Book a superior room but take boxing gloves
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1708patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

i have already reviewed the Food and Service which was excellent however i forgot to mention the appalling Shower in the Room .....one of those Showers that are extremely difficult to adjust....they are called Power Showers but i have no idea why.
0/10 for Showeriness!....

Room Tip: Soapdodgers won't mind the lack of a good Shower!
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyphilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Booked day before for an overnight stay with husband. warm welcome on arrival, showed straight to our room, everything explained well. Room was clean, although a little cold, but they did offer to put heating on and offered us an electric heater to use, which was adequate. Food at dinner was excellent as was the service. Only complaint was the shower was either scolding or cold, could not get a regular temperature. Berriton Room.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max19711974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

For good food, beer and service I don't think it gets very much better than Ye Olde George Inn, my partner and I spend our Sundays I trolling the Meon eating in all the pubs, we stumbled upon this one two weekends ago, we hadn't booked but very friendly staff managed to find us a table, we ate from the light lunch menu and the food was superb. We called again for the second time this Sunday and were just as impressed.
What is so impressive about this pub is the high standard of food produced even when the kitchens are running at maximum capacity, keep up the good work, we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ejpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews